The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ginobli - What cha got? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/60164-ginobli-what-cha-got.html)

Pantherdreams Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:23pm

Ginobli - What cha got?
 
I'm a big Manu fan but he may have gotten away with something here. Assuming this isn't the NBE with special rules for special players, in just any ole' game what have you got here:

YouTube - Manu's step-back buzzer beater

APG Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:28pm

Legal play under NBA rules. A player is allowed two steps after the ball is gathered. In the play, the ball is gathered with his right foot on the floor. The first step is step back with the left foot. The second step occurs on the jump stop. Ginobli would not be able to pivot after this jump stop.

Know that this would be illegal under NFHS and NCAA rules.

JRutledge Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:29pm

This looks like a jump stop to me. He just does it backwards.

If it is a travel, explain why? I only see one possibility why it would be and I cannot tell for sure if what I think happened did. And if you cannot explain why, then to me you should not be calling a travel. :p

Peace

APG Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:31pm

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/t3fNauvrAZQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/t3fNauvrAZQ?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Here's the play for everyone's convenience.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 707940)
Legal play under NBA rules.

Know that this would be illegal under NBA and NCAA rules.

Huh?:confused:

Pantherdreams Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:35pm

Even in leagues where a step and two foot stop is allowed I think this is a travel. He gets a step and a 1-2 stop thats 3 steps.

APG Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 707943)
Huh?:confused:

Simple mistype...corrected the error.

APG Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 707944)
Even in leagues where a step and two foot stop is allowed I think this is a travel. He gets a step and a 1-2 stop thats 3 steps.

This is not a travel under NBA rules...the first step by rule occurs AFTER the ball is gathered. The ball is gathered with the right foot on the floor. He steps back with the left foot which is the first step. The second step occurs with the jump stop. Completely legal.

Raymond Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:38pm

I am answering without reading any posts, including the OP. Hell yeah he travelled.

APG Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:40pm

In fact, here's a case book play that's the exactly play in question.

NBA Case Book (2010-2011)

382. Player A1 drives to the basket, gathers the ball with his left foot on the floor, steps and, clearly jumps off his right foot and lands simultaneously with both feet (jump stop). What are his options?

Player A1 may jump to pass or shoot but is not allowed to pivot or “step through”.
RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - b

Pantherdreams Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 707947)
This is not a travel under NBA rules...the first step by rule occurs AFTER the ball is gathered. The ball is gathered with the right foot on the floor. He steps back with the left foot which is the first step. The second step occurs with the jump stop. Completely legal.

There is no jump stop - After he takes the step back the feet land independently making 3 step after the gather.

APG Thu Dec 16, 2010 07:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 707950)
There is no jump stop - After he takes the step back the feet land independently making 3 step after the gather.

He landed on both fee simultaneously. Sequence was right foot on the floor when the ball was gathered, step back with the left (1st step), and then landed on both after that (2nd step).

Adam Thu Dec 16, 2010 08:08pm

First time through, it looked like a legitimate jump stop by NFHS rules, only moving backwards. There's nothing inherently wrong with that; three point shooters use the move all the time to get squared (they just don't typically move backwards).

However, the others are right, I see the left foot coming down after he gathered on the right foot. He jump stops off the left foot, but that's a travel by NCAA and NFHS rules.

I have no idea about NBA rules.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 16, 2010 08:21pm

HS and NCAA, travel. NBA, legal.

JRutledge Thu Dec 16, 2010 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 707960)
First time through, it looked like a legitimate jump stop by NFHS rules, only moving backwards. There's nothing inherently wrong with that; three point shooters use the move all the time to get squared (they just don't typically move backwards).

However, the others are right, I see the left foot coming down after he gathered on the right foot. He jump stops off the left foot, but that's a travel by NCAA and NFHS rules.

I have no idea about NBA rules.

But how many people would see that? Better yet, how many could describe that when they call a travel? I think most would call a travel because it looked funny, not because they can say exactly why it is a travel.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1