The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Dec 07, 2010, 03:13pm
Ok is the new good

Refs and coach/AD

As a newbie, my instructors are hammering home to establish excellent mechanics including use of proper signals. While other officials notice this, I would think that coaches and ADs are more focused on getting the calls right then on signals.

Vets, is this true?
Old Tue Dec 07, 2010, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
As a newbie, my instructors are hammering home to establish excellent mechanics including use of proper signals. While other officials notice this, I would think that coaches and ADs are more focused on getting the calls right then on signals.

Vets, is this true?
Yes, coaches/ADs are more concerned about getting the calls correct, but don't underestimate the importance of good mechanics and proper signals. Part of our job as officials is being a salesmen. If you're in the proper spot to call plays and look confident with good, crisp signals, that goes a long way towards a coach believing your call and off your back.

I'd say the easiest thing for young officials to perfect is mechanics (specifically good signals). That just comes from time in front of the mirror practicing. That can be worked on from day one. Play calling is something that comes with time, so invariably, you'll have struggles with that.
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Last edited by APG; Tue Dec 07, 2010 at 03:25pm.
Old Tue Dec 07, 2010, 03:21pm
Keeper of the HAMMER