The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back Court Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59960-back-court-question.html)

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 09:45am

Back Court Question
 
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

mbyron Thu Dec 02, 2010 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704598)
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

When A1 recovers the ball, what is its status?

PG_Ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:00am

See rule 4-4

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:08am

I know that when the ball hits an official it is the same as hitting the floor, My confusion with this play is that the ball went to the backcourt and then bounced back to front court does it regain frontcourt status , by rule it seems to, but it to me seems like it still should be a violation. If A1 was at the division line and through ball to opposite side of court, but still at division line. and the ball bounced once in the back court, then again in the front court what would you call?

just another ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 704600)
When A1 recovers the ball, what is its status?

Why is this important?

APG Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704598)
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

The violation is for Team A being the last to touch the ball while it had frontcourt status and being the first to touch the ball after it has gained a backcourt status. The play would be a backcourt violation

PG_Ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704604)
I know that when the ball hits an official it is the same as hitting the floor, My confusion with this play is that the ball went to the backcourt and then bounced back to front court does it regain frontcourt status , by rule it seems to, but it to me seems like it still should be a violation.

If the ball is in the frontcourt and the player is in the frontcourt, why should it be a backcourt violation?

just another ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704610)
If the ball is in the frontcourt and the player is in the frontcourt, why should it be a backcourt violation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704609)
The violation is for Team A being the last to touch the ball while it had frontcourt status and being the first to touch the ball after it has gained a backcourt status.

what he said

Da Official Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704598)
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

Yes, back court violation. Last to touch can't be first to touch. Remember that rule and you'll be good. :cool:

Indianaref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704610)
If the ball is in the frontcourt and the player is in the frontcourt, why should it be a backcourt violation?

SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

IOW as JAR said, status of the ball did not matter. What matters is who is first to touch the ball after it went to backcourt.

JugglingReferee Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:54am

In my first year at camp, this sitch was posed:

A1 is trapped by two opponents and without a dribble available near the DL and the SL. B1 and B2 are both in A's FC, knowing that there is little-to-no strategic advantage to "be" in A's BC.

A2 is near the DL in the centre circle. A1 puts english on the ball and then projects the pass away from B1, to hit his BC, which then spins towards A2. A2 then catches the pass after the first bounce.

We all agreed that this is a violation.

The sitch was then modified so that A2 lets the ball bounce a second time: in the Team A FC, and only then does A2 catch the ball.

Many of us, very green, were surprised to learn of the correct ruling. Which is why we go to camp.

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:45am

I think I am more confused, looks like half are saying that since the ball hit back in frontcourt it now has frontcourt status and in my play it would not be a violation, the other half say it is a violation. Does anyone have definite knowledge on this type of play? We had it in a scrimmage.
The bottom line is can a ball in any manner in a teams frontcourt, be last touched by the offense, go to the backcourt, and without being touched by a player, return to the frontcourt and be first touched by the offense? This would include a spun ball, or a ball that hits an official.

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704646)
I think I am more confused, looks like half are saying that since the ball hit back in frontcourt it now has frontcourt status and in my play it would not be a violation, the other half say it is a violation. Does anyone have definite knowledge on this type of play? We had it in a scrimmage.
The bottom line is can a ball in any manner in a teams frontcourt, be last touched by the offense, go to the backcourt, and without being touched by a player, return to the frontcourt and be first touched by the offense? This would include a spun ball, or a ball that hits an official.

Only one says it's not a violation, and that one is wrong. It's a violation. The location of the ball when it's touched isn't really relevant.

PG_Ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 704651)
Only one says it's not a violation, and that one is wrong. It's a violation. The location of the ball when it's touched isn't really relevant.

:eek: I didn't say it was a violation. I only asked a question for clarification. Clarification was given. ;)

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704653)
:eek: I didn't say it was a violation. I only asked a question for clarification. Clarification was given. ;)

LOL, fair enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1