The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back Court Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59960-back-court-question.html)

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 09:45am

Back Court Question
 
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

mbyron Thu Dec 02, 2010 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704598)
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

When A1 recovers the ball, what is its status?

PG_Ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:00am

See rule 4-4

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:08am

I know that when the ball hits an official it is the same as hitting the floor, My confusion with this play is that the ball went to the backcourt and then bounced back to front court does it regain frontcourt status , by rule it seems to, but it to me seems like it still should be a violation. If A1 was at the division line and through ball to opposite side of court, but still at division line. and the ball bounced once in the back court, then again in the front court what would you call?

just another ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 704600)
When A1 recovers the ball, what is its status?

Why is this important?

APG Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704598)
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

The violation is for Team A being the last to touch the ball while it had frontcourt status and being the first to touch the ball after it has gained a backcourt status. The play would be a backcourt violation

PG_Ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704604)
I know that when the ball hits an official it is the same as hitting the floor, My confusion with this play is that the ball went to the backcourt and then bounced back to front court does it regain frontcourt status , by rule it seems to, but it to me seems like it still should be a violation.

If the ball is in the frontcourt and the player is in the frontcourt, why should it be a backcourt violation?

just another ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704610)
If the ball is in the frontcourt and the player is in the frontcourt, why should it be a backcourt violation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704609)
The violation is for Team A being the last to touch the ball while it had frontcourt status and being the first to touch the ball after it has gained a backcourt status.

what he said

Da Official Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704598)
A1 has ball in front court near division line, B1 hits ball away from A1, it hits A1 Leg, goes into backcourt, hits the official in the backcourt, then returns to frontcourt (bounces in frontcourt) where A1 retrieves the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?

Yes, back court violation. Last to touch can't be first to touch. Remember that rule and you'll be good. :cool:

Indianaref Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704610)
If the ball is in the frontcourt and the player is in the frontcourt, why should it be a backcourt violation?

SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

IOW as JAR said, status of the ball did not matter. What matters is who is first to touch the ball after it went to backcourt.

JugglingReferee Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:54am

In my first year at camp, this sitch was posed:

A1 is trapped by two opponents and without a dribble available near the DL and the SL. B1 and B2 are both in A's FC, knowing that there is little-to-no strategic advantage to "be" in A's BC.

A2 is near the DL in the centre circle. A1 puts english on the ball and then projects the pass away from B1, to hit his BC, which then spins towards A2. A2 then catches the pass after the first bounce.

We all agreed that this is a violation.

The sitch was then modified so that A2 lets the ball bounce a second time: in the Team A FC, and only then does A2 catch the ball.

Many of us, very green, were surprised to learn of the correct ruling. Which is why we go to camp.

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:45am

I think I am more confused, looks like half are saying that since the ball hit back in frontcourt it now has frontcourt status and in my play it would not be a violation, the other half say it is a violation. Does anyone have definite knowledge on this type of play? We had it in a scrimmage.
The bottom line is can a ball in any manner in a teams frontcourt, be last touched by the offense, go to the backcourt, and without being touched by a player, return to the frontcourt and be first touched by the offense? This would include a spun ball, or a ball that hits an official.

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704646)
I think I am more confused, looks like half are saying that since the ball hit back in frontcourt it now has frontcourt status and in my play it would not be a violation, the other half say it is a violation. Does anyone have definite knowledge on this type of play? We had it in a scrimmage.
The bottom line is can a ball in any manner in a teams frontcourt, be last touched by the offense, go to the backcourt, and without being touched by a player, return to the frontcourt and be first touched by the offense? This would include a spun ball, or a ball that hits an official.

Only one says it's not a violation, and that one is wrong. It's a violation. The location of the ball when it's touched isn't really relevant.

PG_Ref Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 704651)
Only one says it's not a violation, and that one is wrong. It's a violation. The location of the ball when it's touched isn't really relevant.

:eek: I didn't say it was a violation. I only asked a question for clarification. Clarification was given. ;)

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 704653)
:eek: I didn't say it was a violation. I only asked a question for clarification. Clarification was given. ;)

LOL, fair enough.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704646)
I think I am more confused, looks like half are saying that since the ball hit back in frontcourt it now has frontcourt status and in my play it would not be a violation, the other half say it is a violation. Does anyone have definite knowledge on this type of play? We had it in a scrimmage.
The bottom line is can a ball in any manner in a teams frontcourt, be last touched by the offense, go to the backcourt, and without being touched by a player, return to the frontcourt and be first touched by the offense? This would include a spun ball, or a ball that hits an official.

Violation....the current status of the ball is irrelevant....only the order of events (touches) relative to when the ball gained BC status (even if only momentarily).

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:19pm

Ok, I think I am slowly understanding, but how do you think is the best way to explain the rational for this play. I have many officials that do not think this is a violation. How should I explain to them that it is?

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:26pm

Send them here.

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:43pm

I like it Snaqwells.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 02, 2010 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704783)
Ok, I think I am slowly understanding, but how do you think is the best way to explain the rational for this play. I have many officials that do not think this is a violation. How should I explain to them that it is?

The offensive team can't "use" the backcourt unless the defensive team is involved by touching the ball.

I sometimes like think of the backcourt as if it were like a delayed OOB call that depends on who touches it next. If team A causes the ball be have BC status after having team control in the frontcourt, the ball is effectively dead to them unless/until the other team touches the ball. The other team has to break the chain of events to free team A from a violation. (I'm using cause here in a sense similar to causing the ball to be OOB....being the last to touch the ball before it goes OOB, but not like touching the ball while OOB).

BillyMac Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:03pm

From An Esteemed Forum Member ...
 
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704851)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Not quite...
the team in control must be the last to thouch the ball before it goes to tte backcourt.
This is NOT the same as being the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt.

BillyMac Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:36pm

Thanks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704851)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 704856)
The team in control must be the last to thouch the ball before it goes to the backcourt.

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt before it goes to the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Better ???

APG Thu Dec 02, 2010 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704874)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt before it goes to the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Better ???

Wouldn't it be more accurate to say that Team A must be the last to touch the ball while the ball had a frontcourt status? Cause as you have it above, one might think that Team A must touch the ball while it they were in the frontcourt. We know this isn't true since a backcourt violation would occur if a Team A player threw the ball from the backcourt and it hit an official in the frontcourt and it rebounded back to the thrower.

Maybe I'm just nitpicking too much though. :confused:

bob jenkins Fri Dec 03, 2010 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704882)
Wouldn't it be more accurate to say that Team A must be the last to touch the ball while the ball had a frontcourt status?

No, because A need not touch the ball while it has FC status. Think of the pass from BC that hits an official in the FC and rebounds to BC. A never touched the ball while it had FC status, but it's still a violation.

Adam Fri Dec 03, 2010 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704929)
No, because A need not touch the ball while it has FC status. Think of the pass from BC that hits an official in the FC and rebounds to BC. A never touched the ball while it had FC status, but it's still a violation.

Part of the rule states "last to touch the ball in the FC," but the other article clearly makes bob's play here a violation.

Bottom line, always listen to bob.

APG Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704929)
No, because A need not touch the ball while it has FC status. Think of the pass from BC that hits an official in the FC and rebounds to BC. A never touched the ball while it had FC status, but it's still a violation.

Like I said, I think I was just overthinking the wording. You're right...as usual. ;)

mbyron Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704981)
You're right...as usual. ;)

You've got something on your nose... :p

Camron Rust Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704874)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt before it goes to the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Better ???

Not really. The red text is a bit ambiguous in that implies that team A touches the ball in the front court. Really, it is could be
last to have touched the ball while the ball was in the frontcourt
That clarifies that it is not where they touched the ball that matters.

ref2coach Fri Dec 03, 2010 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 705051)
Not really. The red text is a bit ambiguous in that implies that team A touches the ball in the front court. Really, it is could be
last to have touched the ball while the ball had frontcourt status
That clarifies that it is not where they touched the ball that matters.

Would the addition is Red be more accurate?

bob jenkins Fri Dec 03, 2010 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 705075)
Would the addition is Red be more accurate?

No.

A never has to touch the ball while it has FC status.

For that matter, A never has to touch the ball while it has BC status.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 03, 2010 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 705075)
Would the addition is Red be more accurate?

I don't think either one would be more accurate. I see your modificatoin as meaning exactly the same as my words.

BillyMac Fri Dec 03, 2010 05:58pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
I'm confused. Too many colors. Red. Green. Thank God no blue. Is this statement correct all the time, or not?

"The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt."

Adam Fri Dec 03, 2010 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 705155)
I'm confused. Too many colors. Is this statement correct all the time, or not?

"The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball <strike>in frontcourt</strike> before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt."

Now it is.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 03, 2010 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705156)
Now it is.

Yep, that's good.

BillyMac Fri Dec 03, 2010 06:21pm

Only Listen To bob ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 705156)
Now it is.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 705157)
Yep, that's good.

"I served with bob, I knew bob, bob was a friend of mine. Snaqwells, Camron Rust, you're no bob." (Lloyd Bentsen, 1988)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1