The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Back Court Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59960-back-court-question.html)

Camron Rust Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704646)
I think I am more confused, looks like half are saying that since the ball hit back in frontcourt it now has frontcourt status and in my play it would not be a violation, the other half say it is a violation. Does anyone have definite knowledge on this type of play? We had it in a scrimmage.
The bottom line is can a ball in any manner in a teams frontcourt, be last touched by the offense, go to the backcourt, and without being touched by a player, return to the frontcourt and be first touched by the offense? This would include a spun ball, or a ball that hits an official.

Violation....the current status of the ball is irrelevant....only the order of events (touches) relative to when the ball gained BC status (even if only momentarily).

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:19pm

Ok, I think I am slowly understanding, but how do you think is the best way to explain the rational for this play. I have many officials that do not think this is a violation. How should I explain to them that it is?

Adam Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:26pm

Send them here.

PIAA REF Thu Dec 02, 2010 03:43pm

I like it Snaqwells.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 02, 2010 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 704783)
Ok, I think I am slowly understanding, but how do you think is the best way to explain the rational for this play. I have many officials that do not think this is a violation. How should I explain to them that it is?

The offensive team can't "use" the backcourt unless the defensive team is involved by touching the ball.

I sometimes like think of the backcourt as if it were like a delayed OOB call that depends on who touches it next. If team A causes the ball be have BC status after having team control in the frontcourt, the ball is effectively dead to them unless/until the other team touches the ball. The other team has to break the chain of events to free team A from a violation. (I'm using cause here in a sense similar to causing the ball to be OOB....being the last to touch the ball before it goes OOB, but not like touching the ball while OOB).

BillyMac Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:03pm

From An Esteemed Forum Member ...
 
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Camron Rust Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704851)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Not quite...
the team in control must be the last to thouch the ball before it goes to tte backcourt.
This is NOT the same as being the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt.

BillyMac Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:36pm

Thanks ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704851)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 704856)
The team in control must be the last to thouch the ball before it goes to the backcourt.

The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt before it goes to the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Better ???

APG Thu Dec 02, 2010 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704874)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt before it goes to the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Better ???

Wouldn't it be more accurate to say that Team A must be the last to touch the ball while the ball had a frontcourt status? Cause as you have it above, one might think that Team A must touch the ball while it they were in the frontcourt. We know this isn't true since a backcourt violation would occur if a Team A player threw the ball from the backcourt and it hit an official in the frontcourt and it rebounded back to the thrower.

Maybe I'm just nitpicking too much though. :confused:

bob jenkins Fri Dec 03, 2010 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704882)
Wouldn't it be more accurate to say that Team A must be the last to touch the ball while the ball had a frontcourt status?

No, because A need not touch the ball while it has FC status. Think of the pass from BC that hits an official in the FC and rebounds to BC. A never touched the ball while it had FC status, but it's still a violation.

Adam Fri Dec 03, 2010 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704929)
No, because A need not touch the ball while it has FC status. Think of the pass from BC that hits an official in the FC and rebounds to BC. A never touched the ball while it had FC status, but it's still a violation.

Part of the rule states "last to touch the ball in the FC," but the other article clearly makes bob's play here a violation.

Bottom line, always listen to bob.

APG Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 704929)
No, because A need not touch the ball while it has FC status. Think of the pass from BC that hits an official in the FC and rebounds to BC. A never touched the ball while it had FC status, but it's still a violation.

Like I said, I think I was just overthinking the wording. You're right...as usual. ;)

mbyron Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 704981)
You're right...as usual. ;)

You've got something on your nose... :p

Camron Rust Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 704874)
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control; the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball in frontcourt before it goes to the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.

Better ???

Not really. The red text is a bit ambiguous in that implies that team A touches the ball in the front court. Really, it is could be
last to have touched the ball while the ball was in the frontcourt
That clarifies that it is not where they touched the ball that matters.

ref2coach Fri Dec 03, 2010 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 705051)
Not really. The red text is a bit ambiguous in that implies that team A touches the ball in the front court. Really, it is could be
last to have touched the ball while the ball had frontcourt status
That clarifies that it is not where they touched the ball that matters.

Would the addition is Red be more accurate?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1