![]() |
|
|
|||
Travel? Loss of Possession?
A1 is dribbling and jumps into the air. Somehow the ball slips from his grasp above his head and hangs in the air for a split second. While the ball is separated, his hands/arms are moving "frantically" in order to re-grab the ball. He then grabs the ball and lands.
Loss of possession therefore legal? Or Travel? Thanks! |
|
|||
It would be a travel as you described it.
If it had been tapped out of his hands by an opposing player, or touched by someone else while in the air, then no violation. If he is under the basket and you have some doubt about whether it was a shot attempt, then consider it a shot - and no violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
4-21: Fumble is accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a players grasp. Thanks |
|
|||
I disagree
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Okay. Thanks Snaqs. Was making sure I was thinking correctly.
|
|
||||
No problem. Also note, if the player had used his dribble, he cannot dribble again unless
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. Last edited by Adam; Wed Dec 01, 2010 at 08:05pm. |
|
|||
not sure i agree with the last one
For it to be travel, he would have to drop the ball to the floor and then be the first to touch it, wouldn't he?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
IMO the last has to do with intentionally. A legal fumble has to be unintentionally dropping the ball or it slipping for grasp. So therefore A1 never lost control legally of the ball resulting in a travel if he came back down to the floor.
|
|
|||
If he is fumbling the ball, what diff does it make. He is allowed to go and retrieve the ball. Like Snags said, if he regains control of the ball and starts another dribble then we don't have a travel, we got an illegal dribble
|
|
|||
NFHS..... rule4-41 art. 3 and 4. The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball. The try ends when the thrown ball touches the floor or when the ball becomes dead.
Rule 4-44 art. 3 after coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot the pivot foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for the goal. rule 4-21 A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips fro from the players grasp. So using all these rules I would say that if the player dribbled and then shot he definitely established a pivot foot. He then did the motion that habitually preceded the release of the ball. But because the try was not deemed unsuccessful do to it not becoming dead or hitting the floor he would have placed the pivot foot back on the floor with the ball in his hands causing the travel. If he would have let the ball hit the floor causing the try to be unsuccessful then no travel. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
In fact, try this one....A1 jumps, B1 blocks A1's try before A1 released te ball the ball. A1 lands. This rule, taken alone, would mean that A1 traveled. The point....this rule assumes it is not complicated by other actions such as a fumble, a blocked shot, or who knows what. As has been said, a blocked shot or a fumble changes everything. A1 is now a player gaining control of a loose ball. Imagine this one.... A1 having used their dribble establishes a pivot foot. A1 fumbles the ball. A1 takes 5 steps in order to get the ball. A1 again establishes a piviot foot in the new location. Has A1 violated at any point along the way? No. A1 can not travel while not holding the ball (player control).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Co-possession travel | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:16am |
Loss of equipment before possession | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 6 | Mon Apr 12, 2004 01:35pm |
Loss of one of our own | CK | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 25, 2002 03:05pm |
Loss of Down on Try | Ray Lutz | Football | 6 | Fri Oct 18, 2002 01:20pm |
SECOND loss for the U.S | hawkk | Basketball | 2 | Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:28am |