![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I'm not understanding some of the thought proccess. He didn't just "jump" he started the habitual motion that preceeds a release of the ball trying to score a goal...that is totally different by rule than a jump. The only legal things he can do from there before he touches the ground is release the ball on a pass or try for a goal. I've played this game for a long time and coached for a long time...only officiated for a short time but it's always been a travell. And when studying the rule it shows travell. Not saying I'm right I just haven't seen anything rule quote wise that is changing my mind
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
By definition, per 4-44, "traveling is moving the foot or feet in any direction in excess of the prescribed limits while HOLDING the ball." I find it hard to see a travel in this play unless the feet are doing more than has been described. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Back to a travel call then. He left the floor in control of the ball. His legal options while in the air are pass or shoot. He came back down in control of the ball, he had not passed or shot - travel is the violation.
|
|
|||
|
What about the fumble? Which is accidental loss of player control. If he loses player control on his fumble how can you have a travel when he re-gains the ball and lands?
|
|
|||
|
This is the only written NFHS ruling that I've ever seen on this action.
2000-2001 BASKETBALL INTERPRETATIONS SUPPLEMENT #1 (11/9/00) SITUATION 1: A1 is an airborne shooter preparing to release the ball on a shot attempt. Instead of releasing the ball on the try, A1 fumbles the ball (while still in the air) and drops it. A1 then returns to the floor and secures possession of the ball. RULING: Traveling violation. While airborne the bail must be released for a try or pass. (4—43-3a; 94) Just saying...
|
|
|||
|
He has another option
Why are you all assuming that he was jumping for a try or a pass? This could have been a jump stop. If you judge that he was passing or it was a try then I agree, travel. However, a player can leap off of one foot and land simultaneously on both feet and not be called for a travel. In this case I know of no rule or case book play that says a momentary loss of control constitutes a travel.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
If it's a jump stop, you're right. No travel regardless of the momentary release of the ball; which I've already stated.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Co-possession travel | Rick Durkee | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 23, 2006 09:16am |
| Loss of equipment before possession | stevesmith | Lacrosse | 6 | Mon Apr 12, 2004 01:35pm |
| Loss of one of our own | CK | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 25, 2002 03:05pm |
| Loss of Down on Try | Ray Lutz | Football | 6 | Fri Oct 18, 2002 01:20pm |
| SECOND loss for the U.S | hawkk | Basketball | 2 | Mon Sep 09, 2002 11:28am |