The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member

Iaabo

So I imagine most of you veterans are part of IAABO.

This is my first year of officiating. At what point in my career should I start thinking about joining? What are the benefits? Costs?

Last edited by JohnDorian37; Tue Nov 30, 2010 at 11:26pm.
Old Tue Nov 30, 2010, 11:40pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post

This is my first year of officiating. At what point in my career should I start thinking about joining? What are the benefits? Costs?
Personally, unless your state requires it, I wouldn't bother.

Mine does, so I bother.
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 12:29am
Esteemed Forum Member

Just Asking ???

Quote:
Why would you think that?
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 01:15am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Why would you think that?
Just assumed that was the thing to do. Watched two BV games tonight and 4 or 5 of the 6 refs had their little IAABO patches.
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 07:39am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Fyi there are many more states with little or no IAABO presence and membership is strictly elective than there are states where IAABO is the governing body and membership is mandatory. What it isn't is some sort of elite officials association.

Iow your assumption above is not based on fact. Some veterans are members; some aren't. But IAABO membership isn't really relevant in any way that I can think of.
Old Wed Dec 01, 2010, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member

One example where the IAABO patch is used;