The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
When a player is injured, an official should direct the timekeeper to start the 20-second clock for the interval of time needed for a substitution.

Does an official do the same if a player is bleeding (but not injured)?
Is bleeding not an injury?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Is bleeding not an injury?
If not, it is the direct result of an injury.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 03:07pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I'm questioning a RefSchool ruling.

Rule 3-3-7 says nothing about the 20-second I.O.T. I suppose bleeding is an injury, but getting someone else's blood on your uni isn't, and you're still coming out nonetheless.

This is all about the I.O.T.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 03:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I'm questioning a RefSchool ruling.

Rule 3-3-7 says nothing about the 20-second I.O.T. I suppose bleeding is an injury, but getting someone else's blood on your uni isn't, and you're still coming out nonetheless.

This is all about the I.O.T.
Did you read the new case book plays? Or the old ones?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 03:41pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Couldn't find anything in the case book, JR, but upon further review, 2-12-5 clearly says the timer will sound a warning signal five seconds into the 20-second interval used when "a player [is] directed to leave the game."

The RefSchool question that spawned this thread reads:

"B-1 is directed to the bench because of blood on his/her uniform.
The official directs the timer to start the 20-second clock to replace B-1. Is the official correct?"


I had YES. RefSchool says NO, citing 2-12-5 and 10-5-3, the latter which has nothing to do with the question.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 03:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Couldn't find anything in the case book, JR, but upon further review, 2-12-5 clearly says the timer will sound a warning signal five seconds into the 20-second interval used when "a player [is] directed to leave the game."

The RefSchool question that spawned this thread reads:

"B-1 is directed to the bench because of blood on his/her uniform.
The official directs the timer to start the 20-second clock to replace B-1. Is the official correct?"


I had YES. RefSchool says NO, citing 2-12-5 and 10-5-3, the latter which has nothing to do with the question.
In citing 2-12-5, you left out "except as in 3-3-6" which is in the NOTE.

There are 3 new case plays this year under 3.3.6.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 09:46pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
In citing 2-12-5, you left out "except as in 3-3-6" which is in the NOTE.
True, sir, but not applicable to the question. Nowhere in the question did it mention the coach requesting a time out, and the case plays in 3.3.6 regard injury, not blood on a uniform.

In any event, I checked with a high-ranking interpreter that assists with RefSchool, and according to him, the answer is indeed YES. The software is a fantastic tool, but like us, it has a few glitches.

(I think I set someone up for the overhead smash with "fantastic tool.")
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 03:53pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,715
I think the answer is NO because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 04:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I think the answer is NO because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.

Agree
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapper1 View Post
i think the answer is no because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.
+1
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 08:07pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I think the answer is NO because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.
The request for the time out must precede the starting of the 20 second interval. If not they must replace the player.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2010, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Is bleeding not an injury?
Some would say No, but is sign of a foul!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2010, 04:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,535
Bloody Mess ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Is bleeding not an injury?
Bleeding may be an injury, but blood on a uniform, especially blood from another player, certainly is not, but it's still treated like an injury, the player is directed to leave the game.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2010, 04:30pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
One of the things I asked my board's interpreter is whether we should or shouldn't ask the coach if he wants a time out, when presented with a bleeding player. According to him, it's neither forbidden nor mandatory.

Still, it sounds like a pretty good idea to me, depending on the knowledge of the coach.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 13, 2010, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 43
The original question had blood on the uniform, it has nothing to do w/ an injury. how do we know that the blood came from the player in question? no TO needed, No 20 sec. IOT needed, just need to change the shirt, make # correction in the scorebook if needed and get the player back in the game (NFHS casebook play 3.3.7 sit A). answer is no.
__________________
Joel P.


Last edited by Joel Poli; Sat Nov 13, 2010 at 05:48pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blood mikebran Baseball 3 Thu Jun 28, 2007 04:21am
Blood OverAndBack Football 2 Sat Sep 02, 2006 03:51pm
Blood WhistlesAndStripes Football 5 Sun Oct 02, 2005 12:08am
Blood OT rainmaker Basketball 19 Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:09pm
Blood, blood, ref, she's bleeding! rainmaker Basketball 27 Wed Jan 01, 2003 12:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1