The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   20-Second I.O.T. for Blood? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59693-20-second-i-o-t-blood.html)

bainsey Thu Nov 11, 2010 02:35pm

20-Second I.O.T. for Blood?
 
When a player is injured, an official should direct the timekeeper to start the 20-second clock for the interval of time needed for a substitution.

Does an official do the same if a player is bleeding (but not injured)?

TimTaylor Thu Nov 11, 2010 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 700603)
When a player is injured, an official should direct the timekeeper to start the 20-second clock for the interval of time needed for a substitution.

Does an official do the same if a player is bleeding (but not injured)?

see rule 3-3-7

Camron Rust Thu Nov 11, 2010 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 700603)
When a player is injured, an official should direct the timekeeper to start the 20-second clock for the interval of time needed for a substitution.

Does an official do the same if a player is bleeding (but not injured)?

Is bleeding not an injury?

Back In The Saddle Thu Nov 11, 2010 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 700613)
Is bleeding not an injury?

If not, it is the direct result of an injury.

bainsey Thu Nov 11, 2010 03:07pm

I'm questioning a RefSchool ruling.

Rule 3-3-7 says nothing about the 20-second I.O.T. I suppose bleeding is an injury, but getting someone else's blood on your uni isn't, and you're still coming out nonetheless.

This is all about the I.O.T.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 700620)
I'm questioning a RefSchool ruling.

Rule 3-3-7 says nothing about the 20-second I.O.T. I suppose bleeding is an injury, but getting someone else's blood on your uni isn't, and you're still coming out nonetheless.

This is all about the I.O.T.

Did you read the new case book plays? Or the old ones?

bainsey Thu Nov 11, 2010 03:41pm

Couldn't find anything in the case book, JR, but upon further review, 2-12-5 clearly says the timer will sound a warning signal five seconds into the 20-second interval used when "a player [is] directed to leave the game."

The RefSchool question that spawned this thread reads:

"B-1 is directed to the bench because of blood on his/her uniform.
The official directs the timer to start the 20-second clock to replace B-1. Is the official correct?"


I had YES. RefSchool says NO, citing 2-12-5 and 10-5-3, the latter which has nothing to do with the question.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 700626)
Couldn't find anything in the case book, JR, but upon further review, 2-12-5 clearly says the timer will sound a warning signal five seconds into the 20-second interval used when "a player [is] directed to leave the game."

The RefSchool question that spawned this thread reads:

"B-1 is directed to the bench because of blood on his/her uniform.
The official directs the timer to start the 20-second clock to replace B-1. Is the official correct?"


I had YES. RefSchool says NO, citing 2-12-5 and 10-5-3, the latter which has nothing to do with the question.

In citing 2-12-5, you left out "except as in 3-3-6" which is in the NOTE.

There are 3 new case plays this year under 3.3.6.

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 11, 2010 03:53pm

I think the answer is NO because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.

Scratch85 Thu Nov 11, 2010 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 700629)
I think the answer is NO because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.


Agree

TimTaylor Thu Nov 11, 2010 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by scrapper1 (Post 700629)
i think the answer is no because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.

+1

Ed Maeder Thu Nov 11, 2010 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 700629)
I think the answer is NO because the coach can elect to use a time-out to fix the blood situation.

The request for the time out must precede the starting of the 20 second interval. If not they must replace the player.

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2010 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 700674)
The request for the time out must precede the starting of the 20 second interval. If not they must replace the player.

Gee, somebody actually took the time to read the new case book plays cited above.

I'm shocked! Shocked, I tell ya! :D

Adam Thu Nov 11, 2010 09:22pm

rhetorical question
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 700683)
Gee, somebody actually took the time to read the new case book plays cited above.

I'm shocked! Shocked, I tell ya! :D

So this would also apply to concussions? :D

Scrapper1 Thu Nov 11, 2010 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 700674)
The request for the time out must precede the starting of the 20 second interval.

Correct. That's why the test answer is no. You don't automatically direct the timer to start the replacement period. You wait until you know whether the coach wants a time-out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1