![]() |
|
|
|||
A1 has the ball in transition at the center jump circle, A3 & A4 are at the free throw line ahead of A1.
B1 is guarding A1. All other B players are still in the backcourt. Seeing the advantage, A1 attempts to pass the ball to A3. During the pass, but before the ball has left A1's hand, B1 fouls A1 across the arm. The foul, while obvious, does nothing to change the speed or trajectory of the pass to A3. A3 has an uncontested layup with A4 there to clean up the action. The closest B player is 40 feet away. "A foul is a foul is a foul" ? No way........ Same Camron's response.... If it doen't affect the offensive player's advantage, then why would you take the advantage away? Classic game stopper. Last edited by asdf; Fri Jul 16, 2010 at 09:43am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Calling it a foul when it wasn't a foul is part of the problem.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
In the context of the subject at hand, I think most people would know what the heck I was talking about.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Would agree...no foul in this case.
__________________
Every game is a big game ![]() |
|
|||
Agreed...I'm passing on that one. No brainer.
(Yes, it's a foul - but would be poor GM to blow on that one.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Or, is it really contact that never caused a disadvantage? If so, then it's not a foul, and there's nothing to call. A subtle but important difference. In asdf's play, he said "B1 fouls A1 across the arm." Then the official needs to call it, because a foul occurred. If, however, the true meaning was "B1 contacted A1's arm, and the pass was not affected", then the contact was ruled incidental, a foul did not occur, and therefore there was nothing to call. A foul is a foul, period. Contact, however can be incidental, or it can be a foul. If it's incidental contact, then there's no foul. Words, and their specific meanings, are important.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
You killing this? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Seriously, though, that is probably a HTBT type of play. Last edited by DLH17; Fri Jul 16, 2010 at 11:18am. |
|
|||
As defined where?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
In your play you appear to use the term "foul" interchangeably with "contact", and that would be incorrect usage. That also causes a lot of misconceptions. We never "pass" on a foul; we do however, judge some contact to be incidental, and thus a foul has not occured. That's where the phrase "A foul is a foul" comes in - it does not mean the same contact should be ruled a foul every single time. It simply means we never "pass" on fouls, even though we may rule contact to be incidental, and thus no foul occured. Can you understand the difference?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
The contact by B1 on A1 is exactly the same, the immdiate result (the pass) is the same, yet in one example A has a distinct advantage and in the other A has no advantage. Pass on the foul in the former, but do not pass on the later. Last edited by asdf; Fri Jul 16, 2010 at 11:40am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Icy roads, 3.5 drive, $53. We do this for the money. | Rich | Basketball | 3 | Sun Feb 10, 2008 02:46pm |
Five second count on a drive | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 31 | Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:20pm |
LBR when F1 catches line drive? | IamMatt | Softball | 11 | Mon Jun 12, 2006 01:53pm |
Basket Interference question. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 1 | Tue Nov 16, 2004 09:36am |
membership drive | johnfox | General / Off-Topic | 0 | Sun Dec 17, 2000 10:21pm |