![]() |
|
|
|||
Rule 4-44
In the OP it was stated the player ended his dribble in an apparent shot attempt. So in my judgement A1 would have released the shot if B1 did not make an attempt to block it. But, since B1 made that attempt A1decided to returned to the floor with the ball.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
Travel, no matter what. |
|
|||
But I still don't follow.
Imagine a completely legal jump stop. The player catches the ball (ends his dribble) with one foot on the floor and jumps off that foot and lands simulataneously on both feet (4-44-2b2). If he decides to shoot while in the air, that is legal. But if he lands on both feet at the same time, that is also legal. By rule, it does not matter if he intends to shoot or not. Can you explain. |
|
|||
Quote:
Suppose A1 raises one foot as if to start a lay-up, sees that the shot will be blocked, and puts the foot back on the floor. That's not illegal (I don't htink), so I don't see why an otherwise-legal jump stop would be illegal. |
|
|||
I see a problem. If judged that A1 gather the ball for a shot attempt and (Continous Motion) came into play (IN JUDGEMENT) and A1 GOT foul. Would that be considered a shooting foul after A1 gathered the ball for a shot attempt and return back to the floor?
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Determining the act of shooting involves a judgment decision by an official. Determining traveling does not. Traveling is based simply upon foot movement. All the official does is observe it.
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Just because A1 lands with both feet does not constitute this a legal jump stop.
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Yes, in my judgement if A1 ends the dribble to attempt a shot and realizes if the shot is release it will be blocked..
__________________
truerookie |
|
|||
Based on what? Nothing in 4-44 mention what the player's intent was/might have been when he jumped and subsequently landed.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Could you site specifically which part of 4-44 you are using to call traveling?
|
|
|||
Via what rule?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jump Ball - "Need to Get Away?" | Fritz | Basketball | 19 | Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:06pm |
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight | pizanno | Basketball | 27 | Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |