The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump stop vs "up and down" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58604-jump-stop-vs-up-down.html)

docofficial Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:50pm

Jump stop vs "up and down"
 
Player A1 ends his dribble and jumps off one foot in an apparent attempt to try for a goal. Player B1 jumps to block the try. So A1 does not release the ball and lands on the floor with both feet simultaneously.

What is the ruling here?

Even though everyone in the gym will want a traveling violation. I cannot see why this move is any different from a legal jump stop. Am I right?

Thanks.

truerookie Wed Jul 14, 2010 12:57pm

Traveling!!! in your own description is was a shot attempt and when A1 realize the shot was going to be block A1 decided to return to the floor with the ball.

docofficial Wed Jul 14, 2010 01:07pm

Can you cite the rule which makes this a travel?

truerookie Wed Jul 14, 2010 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by docofficial (Post 685378)
Can you cite the rule which makes this a travel?

Rule 4-44

In the OP it was stated the player ended his dribble in an apparent shot attempt. So in my judgement A1 would have released the shot if B1 did not make an attempt to block it. But, since B1 made that attempt A1decided to returned to the floor with the ball.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 14, 2010 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 685381)
Rule 4-44-3(b) or 4-44-4(a), depending on whether a pivot foot was established at the end of the dribble or not.

In the OP it was stated the player ended his dribble in an apparent shot attempt. So in my judgement A1 would have released the shot if B1 did not make an attempt to block it. But, since B1 made that attempt A1decided to returned to the floor with the ball.

Narrowed down the cite.....

Travel, no matter what.

drofficial Wed Jul 14, 2010 03:10pm

But I still don't follow.

Imagine a completely legal jump stop. The player catches the ball (ends his dribble) with one foot on the floor and jumps off that foot and lands simulataneously on both feet (4-44-2b2). If he decides to shoot while in the air, that is legal. But if he lands on both feet at the same time, that is also legal. By rule, it does not matter if he intends to shoot or not.

Can you explain.

Mark Padgett Wed Jul 14, 2010 03:56pm

OK - is your name docofficial or drofficial? Hey guys - maybe he's one of those Russian spies! :eek:

bob jenkins Wed Jul 14, 2010 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 685390)
But I still don't follow.

Imagine a completely legal jump stop. The player catches the ball (ends his dribble) with one foot on the floor and jumps off that foot and lands simulataneously on both feet (4-44-2b2). If he decides to shoot while in the air, that is legal. But if he lands on both feet at the same time, that is also legal. By rule, it does not matter if he intends to shoot or not.

Can you explain.

I don't follow either.

Suppose A1 raises one foot as if to start a lay-up, sees that the shot will be blocked, and puts the foot back on the floor. That's not illegal (I don't htink), so I don't see why an otherwise-legal jump stop would be illegal.

truerookie Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by drofficial (Post 685390)
But I still don't follow.

Imagine a completely legal jump stop. The player catches the ball (ends his dribble) with one foot on the floor and jumps off that foot and lands simulataneously on both feet (4-44-2b2). If he decides to shoot while in the air, that is legal. But if he lands on both feet at the same time, that is also legal. By rule, it does not matter if he intends to shoot or not.

Can you explain.

Ok, imagine this A1 goes up for a layup and B1 jumps to block the shot. A1 realizes that the shot will be blocked, decides to return back to the floor with both feet landing simulataneously so his shot would not be block. You have the lifting/returning of the pivot foot to the floor. A1 had every intentions of taking a shot attempt.

Just because A1 lands with both feet does not constitute this a legal jump stop.

just another ref Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by docofficial (Post 685375)
Player A1 ends his dribble and jumps off one foot in an apparent attempt to try for a goal. Player B1 jumps to block the try. So A1 does not release the ball and lands on the floor with both feet simultaneously.

What is the ruling here?

Even though everyone in the gym will want a traveling violation. I cannot see why this move is any different from a legal jump stop. Am I right?

Thanks.

Assuming the other foot never touched the floor after ending the dribble until both feet landed simultaneously, this is not at travel.

just another ref Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 685397)
Ok, imagine this A1 goes up for a layup and B1 jumps to block the shot. A1 realizes that the shot will be blocked, decides to return back to the floor with both feet landing simulataneously so his shot would not be block. You have the lifting/returning of the pivot foot to the floor. A1 had every intentions of taking a shot attempt.

Just because A1 lands with both feet does not constitute this a legal jump stop.

If he jumped off the one foot, and the other foot had not touched the floor, he had no pivot foot.

APG Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 685397)
Ok, imagine this A1 goes up for a layup and B1 jumps to block the shot. A1 realizes that the shot will be blocked, decides to return back to the floor with both feet landing simulataneously so his shot would not be block. You have the lifting/returning of the pivot foot to the floor. A1 had every intentions of taking a shot attempt.

Just because A1 lands with both feet does not constitute this a legal jump stop.

If A1 ends his dribble with a foot on the floor, jumps off that foot with the intention to shoot but seeing B1 will block the shot decides to land with both feet simultaneously, are you saying you would call a travel? :confused:

johnny1784 Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:30pm

Does anyone know of video to watch or purchase on line for travel and illegal dribble violations?

truerookie Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 685400)
If A1 ends his dribble with a foot on the floor, jumps off that foot with the intention to shoot but seeing B1 will block the shot decides to land with both feet simultaneously, are you saying you would call a travel? :confused:

Yes, in my judgement if A1 ends the dribble to attempt a shot and realizes if the shot is release it will be blocked..

just another ref Wed Jul 14, 2010 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 685402)
Yes, in my judgement if A1 ends the dribble to attempt a shot and realizes if the shot is release it will be blocked..

Based on what? Nothing in 4-44 mention what the player's intent was/might have been when he jumped and subsequently landed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1