![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 4-15-1 clearly says a dribble commences when a ball is batted or pushed "to the floor." Rule 4-15-2 talked about a ball that was "batted," then striking the floor. Neither happened here, nor was there intent to get it to the floor. It was an intended throw to oneself, which is not a pass, nor is it a dribble, either. Quote:
I certainly understand your it's-one-or-the-other paradigm, M&M, but I'm not about to call something it clearly isn't. Quote:
*In basketball and football, an illegal use of hands requires a use of hands. *In football, an illegal formation requires a formation. *In hockey, an illegal stick certainly can't happen without a stick in question. *And back to basketball: A player dribbles, holds the ball, then dribbles again. The second dribble is an illegal dribble. (I don't see what's so impossible about that, Cam.) Or, if you're touching the ball twice before it hits the ground, you're dribbling illegally. The word "illegal" does not negate the noun. It recongizes the noun, or action, as being illegal. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rebound action | tomegun | Basketball | 8 | Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm |
Shooter gets own rebound | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm |
Team Rebound | tjksail | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:45pm |
OOB Rebound | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 10 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am |
Legal rebound | mercury | Basketball | 3 | Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:48pm |