The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #76 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Camron - as I read back through the thread, it seems as though in the beginning we actually agreed the initial post was the start of a dribble. I'm not sure where we got off track, other than perhaps you enjoy disagreeing with me. Did I knock over your sandcastle once in a former life?

Ok, we agree the action is a dribble. We just now disagree as to whether the "start of a dribble" happens when the ball leaves the hand, or only after it hits the floor the first time. My contention, and JR's contention (post #33), is that the dribble starts when it leaves the hand, and any action thereafter must fall within the guidelines of the dribble rule. (Such as touching it twice before it hits the floor.) The phrase "to the floor" indicates a direction, not a destination.

Pretty simple question - we all know the pivot foot cannot be lifted before the dribble is started, as per 4-15-3. If, as you believe, the dribble doesn't start until after the ball has hit the floor, then how come there is no travel violation if the pivot foot is lifted in between the ball leaving the hand and hitting the floor?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 10:05am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Camron - as I read back through the thread, it seems as though in the beginning we actually agreed the initial post was the start of a dribble. I'm not sure where we got off track, other than perhaps you enjoy disagreeing with me. Did I knock over your sandcastle once in a former life?

Ok, we agree the action is a dribble. We just now disagree as to whether the "start of a dribble" happens when the ball leaves the hand, or only after it hits the floor the first time. My contention, and JR's contention (post #33), is that the dribble starts when it leaves the hand, and any action thereafter must fall within the guidelines of the dribble rule. (Such as touching it twice before it hits the floor.) The phrase "to the floor" indicates a direction, not a destination.

Pretty simple question - we all know the pivot foot cannot be lifted before the dribble is started, as per 4-15-3. If, as you believe, the dribble doesn't start until after the ball has hit the floor, then how come there is no travel violation if the pivot foot is lifted in between the ball leaving the hand and hitting the floor?
4-44-3c: The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-44-3c: The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.
Thanks, jar.

But I still won't agree with your stance on the blarge.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Camron - as I read back through the thread, it seems as though in the beginning we actually agreed the initial post was the start of a dribble. I'm not sure where we got off track, other than perhaps you enjoy disagreeing with me. Did I knock over your sandcastle once in a former life?
Nah, half the fun is just discecting the rule. Doesn't matter who is takeing up the other point. At least I don't start call you an idiot for disagreeing with me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Ok, we agree the action is a dribble. We just now disagree as to whether the "start of a dribble" happens when the ball leaves the hand, or only after it hits the floor the first time. My contention, and JR's contention (post #33), is that the dribble starts when it leaves the hand, and any action thereafter must fall within the guidelines of the dribble rule. (Such as touching it twice before it hits the floor.) The phrase "to the floor" indicates a direction, not a destination.
This is where I don't necessarily agree. Note the pass rule...."to another player". Does that indicate direction or desitination? It is a destination...the case plays on that are quite clear.

I assert that it is not a dribble at all if it doesn't touch the floor. It always starts on the release, but you can't always be sure what it is until later.

EDIT: In fact, the dribble can be started by throwing the ball in absolutely ANY direction or distance, letting it bounce, the touching the ball again.....so how can "to the floor" be a direction?

Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Pretty simple question - we all know the pivot foot cannot be lifted before the dribble is started, as per 4-15-3. If, as you believe, the dribble doesn't start until after the ball has hit the floor, then how come there is no travel violation if the pivot foot is lifted in between the ball leaving the hand and hitting the floor?
I never claimed the dribble doesn't start until it hits the floor. It starts on the release, but you may not be able to determine if it was a dribble or not until other events happen.

For example, when a player pushes/throws the ball to the floor, is it a bounce pass or a dribble? It would, if it bounces to another player, end up being a pass. If it bounces back to the original ball hander, it would be a dribble.

When it left the hand it was either a pass or a dribble, but you can't tell which until it the next action occurs.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Jul 20, 2010 at 10:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 20, 2010, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nah, half the fun is just discecting the rule. Doesn't matter who is takeing up the other point. At least I don't start call you an idiot for disagreeing with me.
But, what if I am?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
This is where I don't necessarily agree. Note the pass rule...."to another player". Does that indicate direction or desitination? It is a destination...the case plays on that are quite clear.
Not really; don't get too hung up on only final destinations. For example, A1 drives the lane, gathers the dribble, jumps in the air, and attempts a pass to a teammate in the corner. However the pass is too high, and the ball sails OOB on the sideline. So, where does the violation occur? If we take the case play literally, since A1's throw did not end up at another player, it is actually a dribble, thus A1 lifted the pivot foot before starting a dribble, or started a second dribble, and the throw-in should be along the endline. But we know the throw-in will be on the sideline where it went OOB. Why? Because the same player didn't recover it. A1 threw the ball to(wards) another player, but because A1 wasn't the first to retrieve it, it is still considered a pass, even though no other player actually touched it. In other words, "to another player" means the opposite of "the same player retrieving it".

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I assert that it is not a dribble at all if it doesn't touch the floor. It always starts on the release, but you can't always be sure what it is until later.
Sometimes, but "later" can occur fairly quickly. In the example of the same player touching it twice before it hits the ground, after moving the feet, means it's a violation of 4-15-2. In other words, the same player touched the ball again before it hit the ground. It's not a violation if we know another player touched it before it hit the ground, which would make it a pass, or the same player touched it, which would make it an illegal dribble. We did have to wait to be able to tell; sometimes it's a fraction of a second, other times it may be a couple of seconds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
EDIT: In fact, the dribble can be started by throwing the ball in absolutely ANY direction or distance, letting it bounce, the touching the ball again.....so how can "to the floor" be a direction?
It brings in another non-basketball rule: gravity. Throw a ball in any direction, and it will hit the floor if it doesn't hit anything else first, right? Direction doesn't necessarily mean a straight line.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebound action tomegun Basketball 8 Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm
Shooter gets own rebound Cyber-Ref Basketball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm
Team Rebound tjksail Basketball 2 Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:45pm
OOB Rebound Luv4Asian8 Basketball 10 Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am
Legal rebound mercury Basketball 3 Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1