Thread: rebound, pass
View Single Post
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 04:31pm
bainsey bainsey is offline
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Ok, you lost me. Of course, it's not a dribble because it's an illegal dribble.
Ah, there lies where we part ways.

Your viewpoint: It's illegal, because it's not a dribble.
My viewpoint: It can't be an illegal dribble, until it's a dribble first. THEN, you determine whether it's legal or illegal.

Quote:
Cannot tell you why it was changed to a travel, as it is a rule fundamental that a player cannot travel during a dribble.
And since it never was a dribble, it can't be an illegal dribble; therefore, travelling applies.

Quote:
The case play is still under the "dribble" section of the rules, and the play does not violate any pivot foot restrictions, which is of course, the basis for any traveling violation.
I can see your sticking point here. The best description I can provide is that the ball was touched twice, in two different places. (Initially, I thought travelling didn't apply, because there were no feet on the floor on the first touch, but I've since been proven wrong.) Two touches in two places without an established dribble = travelling, since the dribble never took place.

Quote:
A player in control can hold, dribble, pass, shoot, or fumble on their own. You still maintain that it is not a dribble.
Uh, no. A player can dribble, and I still maintain it's not a dribble? Now you lost me.
Reply With Quote