![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
If you don't meet the definition of "anything" you have performed an illegal "anything". If you met the definition of an "anything", that, by definition, means it was legal. You can have either legal contact or illegal contact, however. Illegal contact is contact that is not don't within the legal range of contact. An illegal dribble is an action that, in most ways, fits the act of a legal dribble but has some element that does not....making it an illegal dribble. (Or is a drible at a time when it is not permitted---after the player has already dribbled). It just so happens that we give one of them a specific name (carry/palm) even though it doesn't need on since it is really the ending an restarting of a 2nd dribble. Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
You can't have illegal contact without contact first. You can't have an illegal use of hands without a use of hands. The "anything" must occur first for the action to be deemed illegal. Quote:
Meeting the definition is a prerequisite for determining whether an action was legal or illegal. |
|
|||
Quote:
And if the ball was released, rule 4-15-3 now applies....The dribble may be STARTED by pushing throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted." Anything that happens after the ball leaves the hand(s) on that dribble start now falls into "during the dribble". And the ball was then touched twice during one dribble, which is a violation. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
(touching the ball a second time before it touches the floor) is not one of the things that ends a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
4-15-1: "A dribble is ball movement (check) caused by a player in control (check) who bats or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times." 4-15-2: "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)." This is where the OP violated. If the ball had hit the floor, then all of the points in 4-15-1 would have been met, and therefore it would be a dribble. Quote:
Quote:
![]() So, let's say we call it that A1 "threw the ball somewhere", instead of calling it a dribble. There's 4.15.4 Sit C: "After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound, or (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against an opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is the first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board." Again, another example of how the rule definition of dribble doesn't necessarily follow the accepted action of simply bouncing the ball on the floor, but it certainly includes that action.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
But I agree, there are a number of rules that could use a little work. Quote:
As for Case 4.15.4C, the opponent's backboard and officials count as the floor, hence counting as a dribble. It makes sense, really. To some, we're as valuable as a floorboard. Last edited by bainsey; Thu Jul 15, 2010 at 03:46pm. |
|
|||
Ok, you lost me. Of course, it's not a dribble because it's an illegal dribble. I didn't check the "towards the floor", because that's what made it a violation - it was touched again by the same player before it hit the floor.
Cannot tell you why it was changed to a travel, as it is a rule fundamental that a player cannot travel during a dribble. The case play is still under the "dribble" section of the rules, and the play does not violate any pivot foot restrictions, which is of course, the basis for any traveling violation. A player in control can hold, dribble, pass, shoot, or fumble on their own. You still maintain that it is not a dribble. Since the player has control, what is the player's action called then? And what rule do you use to specify what that action is called?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
||||
Quote:
Your viewpoint: It's illegal, because it's not a dribble. My viewpoint: It can't be an illegal dribble, until it's a dribble first. THEN, you determine whether it's legal or illegal. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Again, you are maintaining it was never a dribble. So what was the action? And what rule do you use to back either assertion?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Why? To be a "dribble" first means it has fit the definition of a dribble and is, therefore, not illegal (except for a 2nd dribble after the first has ended). So, to ever have an illegal dribble other than a second dribble, the term illegal dribble can't depend on it being a dribble first.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
You cannot have traveling without first having a ______???
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule 4-15-1 clearly says a dribble commences when a ball is batted or pushed "to the floor." Rule 4-15-2 talked about a ball that was "batted," then striking the floor. Neither happened here, nor was there intent to get it to the floor. It was an intended throw to oneself, which is not a pass, nor is it a dribble, either. Quote:
I certainly understand your it's-one-or-the-other paradigm, M&M, but I'm not about to call something it clearly isn't. Quote:
*In basketball and football, an illegal use of hands requires a use of hands. *In football, an illegal formation requires a formation. *In hockey, an illegal stick certainly can't happen without a stick in question. *And back to basketball: A player dribbles, holds the ball, then dribbles again. The second dribble is an illegal dribble. (I don't see what's so impossible about that, Cam.) Or, if you're touching the ball twice before it hits the ground, you're dribbling illegally. The word "illegal" does not negate the noun. It recongizes the noun, or action, as being illegal. |
|
|||
Quote:
Whatever you choose to call it, an intended throw to oneself is illegal. Consider the following. A1 has ended his dribble. B1 rushes up. A1 momentarily forgets he has no dribble and tries to drive around B1. The ball strikes B1's foot before touching the floor, then goes out of bounds and hits the bleachers. What do you call?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Rebound action | tomegun | Basketball | 8 | Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm |
Shooter gets own rebound | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm |
Team Rebound | tjksail | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:45pm |
OOB Rebound | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 10 | Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am |
Legal rebound | mercury | Basketball | 3 | Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:48pm |