The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 12:38pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Imagine the possibility if this were not a violation....A4 catches a rebound and, before landing, tosses it up into the air away from other players. A4 chases it down, jumps, catches it, and does the same thing again....and again...and again...all the way to the other end of the court where they finally catch it and dunk it. Hmmmm.
An interesting point, but bear in mind you can legally do something similar to that with your feet on the floor.

For example, A1 is in the backcourt and attempts a try for goal. Player/team control has ended. A1 chases down the ball and catches it. Control is back. A1 repeats, and repeats, and repeats. You can't call travelling, because control ends on each "shot."

It sounds to me like we need to define when player control ended in the OP. If it began when the player secured the ball, did it end when he released the ball on the pass? If so, the travelling rule only covers when there is one or two feet on the floor, not zero.

If the ball hits the floor before retrieval, I can see a case for a dribble. If he simply catches his own "pass," I don't see anything illegal yet.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 01:00pm
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
I'll throw this in the mix as well.

The rebounder is jumping up several times and using a controlled tip to him/herself to keep the ball away from a defender until they can gather it with both hands. As a result of the tips the player moves several feet from the initial rebounding location. Some would call this good rebounding skills some may not.

Have they now done a similar act as what was in the OP?
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 02:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater View Post

The rebounder is jumping up several times and using a controlled tip to him/herself to keep the ball away from a defender until they can gather it with both hands. As a result of the tips the player moves several feet from the initial rebounding location. Some would call this good rebounding skills some may not.
No matter what they call it, it's perfectly legal under NFHS and NCAA rules. There is no player control on a tip. They can 'control tip' the ball from one end of the court to the other legally as long as the ball never comes to rest on the hand of the player tipping it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater View Post
I'll throw this in the mix as well.

The rebounder is jumping up several times and using a controlled tip to him/herself to keep the ball away from a defender until they can gather it with both hands. As a result of the tips the player moves several feet from the initial rebounding location. Some would call this good rebounding skills some may not.

Have they now done a similar act as what was in the OP?
No, because player control was never established in your case, but it was in the OP, because they specifically said the rebound was caught.

4-12-5 seems to cover your play: "Team control does not exist during a jump ball, or the touching of a rebound, but is re-established when a player secures control." 4-12-1 tells us player control only exists when a player is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 02:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post

It sounds to me like we need to define when player control ended in the OP. If it began when the player secured the ball, did it end when he released the ball on the pass?
What pass?

You need to learn basic definitions, Bainsey. Read NFHS rule 4-31 and then tell us how that can be a pass.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
For example, A1 is in the backcourt and attempts a try for goal. Player/team control has ended. A1 chases down the ball and catches it. Control is back. A1 repeats, and repeats, and repeats. You can't call travelling, because (team) control ends on each "shot."
Not relavent. This is important - team control ends on a shot. In the OP, team control is established with the catch of the rebound, and team control does not end with the pass. Therefore, your example doesn't apply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
It sounds to me like we need to define when player control ended in the OP. If it began when the player secured the ball, did it end when he released the ball on the pass? If so, the travelling rule only covers when there is one or two feet on the floor, not zero.
And the violation that occurs is an illegal dribble per the case play, not a travel. It is not a "pass", because as per the definition, it did not go to another player. Therefore, it can only be part of a dribble. Then 4-15-2 comes in: "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands." If the ball was still in the air when the player retrieved it, it is a violation. If the ball hit the floor, then it is part of a dribble. If they catch it, then dribble again, that would be another violation.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 02:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
And the violation that occurs is an illegal dribble per the case play, not a travel. It is not a "pass", because as per the definition, it did not go to another player. Therefore, it can only be part of a dribble. Then 4-15-2 comes in: "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hands." If the ball was still in the air when the player retrieved it, it is a violation. If the ball hit the floor, then it is part of a dribble. If they catch it, then dribble again, that would be another violation.
Bingo!

It doesn't meet the definition of a "fumble" either. That leaves a dribble as the only alternative.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jul 14, 2010 at 02:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 04:32pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Not relavent.[sic]
To the OP, M&M? True. That illustration had more to do with Cam's example than anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
You need to learn basic definitions, Bainsey.
Already covered, chief. If you notice in the following paragraph, "pass" is in quotes. Perhaps I should have done the same there, too, for clarity's sake.

Anyway, the number of feet on the floor is irrelevant when touching the ball twice. That's fine. While that certainly isn't a pass, and the act is indeed a violation, I'm not yet sold it's a dribble, either. If a dribble starts with the act of pushing the ball to the floor (NFHS 4-15-1), how can one call an illegal dribble when the definition of dribbling is not met?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
If a dribble starts with the act of pushing the ball to the floor (NFHS 4-15-1), how can one call an illegal dribble when the definition of dribbling is not met?
It would be an illegal dribble for that very reason....it didn't fit the required definition of dribbing. The legal method of dribbling is defined...any other method of of moving with "control" of the ball is illegal....an illegal dribble or a travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 05:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
While that certainly isn't a pass, and the act is indeed a violation, I'm not yet sold it's a dribble, either. If a dribble starts with the act of pushing the ball to the floor (NFHS 4-15-1), how can one call an illegal dribble when the definition of dribbling is not met?
Doesn't NFHS rule 4-15-2 say that you can legally bat the ball into the air during a dribble provided that the ball hits the floor before you touch it again? Doesn't a dribble start as soon as the ball leaves the dribbler's hand(s)?

That's where the definition of a "dribble" is met in the play being discussed.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 14, 2010, 11:08pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Doesn't a dribble start as soon as the ball leaves the dribbler's hand(s)?
Absolutely, IF he is dribbling.

Consider the pass definition from earlier. If the action doesn't meet the definition of the pass, it's not a pass. That's the exact point I'm making about dribbling. If the action doesn't meet the definition of dribbling, then to be consistent, it shouldn't be called "dribbling," be it legal or illegal. While Case 4.15.4D(a) shows an illegal action after dribbling had started, the OP features a play where the definition isn't met.

Ultimately, it's a violation, and most people won't care what you call it, as long as you call it something. Perhaps "illegal dribble" is the closest we have within the existing rules, and considering the infinitesimal chance we'll ever have this play, that probably won't change.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Absolutely, IF he is dribbling.
You may be confusing the definitions of the terms dribble and pass with the generally accepted meanings, and intent of the player. A pass, by rule, is to another player. The fact that you even used quotes to call it a "pass" when the same player retrieved it shows you have the rule confused with intent. If A1 releases the ball, even with the obvious intent that it's towards a teammate, and still ends up going to get the ball because the teammate doesn't see it coming, it is simply not a pass, according to the rules. There is even a recent case play or interp that states that very concept, and even states it is considered a dribble after A1 retrieves it.

The same with a dribble - don't confuse the "generally accepted action" of bouncing the ball straight up and down from the hand about waist high down to the floor, with the definition of a dribble. The ball doesn't have to go in a direct line from the hand to the floor, but can even go up in the air, as long as it's allowed to hit the ground before being touched again (4-15-2). There are several case plays that support the idea that a dribble is not limited to only bouncing the ball straight up and down.

That's what JR and I are saying - in the OP, it wasn't a pass, by rule, because the ball didn't go to another player. It wasn't a fumble, because there wasn't accidental loss of control (as per another definition, 4-21). It wasn't a try. So that makes the player's action a dribble, by rule. And thus, you can make a determination of whether an action is legal or not based on dribble and travelling rules.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 10:37am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
You may be confusing the definitions of the terms dribble and pass with the generally accepted meanings, and intent of the player. A pass, by rule, is to another player. The fact that you even used quotes to call it a "pass" when the same player retrieved it shows you have the rule confused with intent.
I may have confused some of you with my "pass" notation. The quotes basically said "for the the lack of a better word," but I know it's wrong.

Quote:
The ball doesn't have to go in a direct line from the hand to the floor, but can even go up in the air, as long as it's allowed to hit the ground before being touched again (4-15-2)
Actually, that's my point, and it's all about the definition, not the general acceptance. My understanding of the OP was that ball was never allowed to hit the floor, so it wouldn't meet the definition of a dribble, either. If it hits the floor, that's a different story.

Quote:
in the OP, it wasn't a pass.... It wasn't a fumble.... It wasn't a try.... So that makes the player's action a dribble, by rule.
So, if it's not A, nor B, nor C, then it must be D, even though the action doesn't meet the definition of D? Is there a rule the cites this?

Quote:
I wonder if my boss would mind if I took some additional bookshelf space for more basketball-related items?
I've wondered that myself. For now, I keep mine in a desk drawer.

Aside to Nevada: Do you have that recent case in question? That may put this whole argument to bed.

Last edited by bainsey; Thu Jul 15, 2010 at 10:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
And the violation that occurs is an illegal dribble per the case play, not a travel.
Not according to the "new" case book ruling. Please recall that the violation was changed a couple of years ago from illegal dribble to traveling by that rules guru Mary S.

For the record, I agree with Camron and JR that this action should be illegal. However, I can't find anything in the text of the NFHS rules that makes it so.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Not according to the "new" case book ruling. Please recall that the violation was changed a couple of years ago from illegal dribble to traveling by that rules guru Mary S.
Oh, yea...I vaguely remember that... I may need to get a more recent copy here at the office. I wonder if my boss would mind if I took some additional bookshelf space for more basketball-related items?...

At least we agree it's a violation, even though we may disagree which one.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebound action tomegun Basketball 8 Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:49pm
Shooter gets own rebound Cyber-Ref Basketball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 08:14pm
Team Rebound tjksail Basketball 2 Sat Feb 05, 2005 12:45pm
OOB Rebound Luv4Asian8 Basketball 10 Sun Apr 04, 2004 09:08am
Legal rebound mercury Basketball 3 Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1