Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
JR,
Here is the question:
A1 jumps and catches a rebound. While still airborne he throws a high lob pass which will land about 10 feet away from his position. After he lands, he quickly runs over and catches the ball before it strikes the floor.
Is this a legal play or some kind of violation?
|
Illegal dribble. 4.15.4E(b) (from an older book that I have by computer)....
A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: an illegal dribble violation....since the ball did not thouch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is an illegal dribble.
The fact that it was thrown over B1's head in the case play is not really relevant as that really has nothing to do with the illegal dribble rule but is only there to set up the scenario.