The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Why call traveling? It's the NBE. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58187-why-call-traveling-its-nbe.html)

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 08:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 678193)
BLUE FONT!!!:p

IDGAF about blue font. I knew you were being sarcastic, though, and I responded accordingly.

Nevadaref Sun May 23, 2010 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678160)
He had complete and total control to the point where I would have granted a timeout while it was pinned.

Then you are deeming that he is HOLDING the ball because only by establishing player control can a time-out request be granted during a live ball (other than at the disposal situations), and player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Anyone who would have granted a request for a time-out to a player pinning the ball to the floor in this manner is admitting that this action constitutes holding the ball.

The reason that I posted 4.15 Comment earlier in this thread was to demonstrate that the NFHS considers it possible for a player to be holding the ball while it is touching the floor.

just another ref Sun May 23, 2010 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 678226)

The reason that I posted 4.15 Comment earlier in this thread was to demonstrate that the NFHS considers it possible for a player to be holding the ball while it is touching the floor.

Doesn't this go in the DUH file? Of course it is possible for a player to hold the ball while touching the floor.......or another player.........or the backboard if it's a really tall player.

Some of us just think that in this play, Rondo was not holding the ball until after he stood up. One would think that based on past history, he could have done practically anything here without a whistle.

But, if an NFHS player has the presence of mind to not grab the ball while on the floor in this situation, or just gets lucky and doesn't, it is a legal play.

dave30 Mon May 24, 2010 12:03am

Kobe stumbled the other night and took two or three steps and fell down while clutching the ball like an NFL running back.

He wasn't called for travelling and was granted a timeout!

Nevadaref Mon May 24, 2010 12:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dave30 (Post 678233)
Kobe stumbled the other night and took two or three steps and fell down while clutching the ball like an NFL running back.

He wasn't called for travelling and was granted a timeout!

Falling to the floor with the ball is not illegal in the NBA.

"A player who falls to the floor while holding the ball, or while coming to a stop, may not gain an advantage by sliding."

I won't comment on the number of steps taken during the fall.

Camron Rust Mon May 24, 2010 12:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678175)
I said nothing about the spirit of the rule, so perhaps your reading comprehension could use a little work.

"Intent and purpose" are, however, mentioned in the actual rule book.

And those are essentially the same thing.

JRutledge Mon May 24, 2010 01:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 678232)
Some of us just think that in this play, Rondo was not holding the ball until after he stood up. One would think that based on past history, he could have done practically anything here without a whistle.

I have to agree with you completely. I just saw the YouTube video of this play and it looks like Rondo does not gain control until he is on his feet. I was mostly commenting off of memory, but now that I was really able to see the replay (the top video looks the best in my opinion) I not only think that this was legal, this would be legal at all levels. He did not control the ball then come off the floor from my judgment.

Peace

Jurassic Referee Mon May 24, 2010 06:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 678240)
He did not control the ball then come off the floor <font color = red>from my judgment</font>.

And that's how the play is called.....

Always a judgment call.

Adam Mon May 24, 2010 07:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 678226)
Then you are deeming that he is HOLDING the ball because only by establishing player control can a time-out request be granted during a live ball (other than at the disposal situations), and player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.

Anyone who would have granted a request for a time-out to a player pinning the ball to the floor in this manner is admitting that this action constitutes holding the ball.

The reason that I posted 4.15 Comment earlier in this thread was to demonstrate that the NFHS considers it possible for a player to be holding the ball while it is touching the floor.

That was my point, yes.

Nevadaref Mon May 24, 2010 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 678244)
And that's how the play is called.....

Always a judgment call.

Well that's a great way to kill the discussion. Where's the fun in that? :(

Raymond Mon May 24, 2010 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678201)
IDGAF about blue font...

An oldie, but goodie....and it was started by me. :D

tomegun Mon May 24, 2010 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 678270)
An oldie, but goodie....and it was started by me. :D

Uh, I haven't been posting/reading a lot, but can someone tell me who this (Judtech) guy is to even dictate something that wasn't normally done on the forum. Or, are people just doing it (sometimes) to be sarcastic like the....wait for it...:D

If so, Judtech, you have been owned!

Nevadaref Mon May 24, 2010 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomegun (Post 678271)
Uh, I haven't been posting/reading a lot, but can someone tell me who this (Judtech) guy is to even dictate something that wasn't normally done on the forum. Or, are people just doing it (sometimes) to be sarcastic like the....wait for it...:D

If so, Judtech, you have been owned!

I believe that people are doing it as a running joke.

As far as Judtech, he is a big-time college official. He can dictate the parameters of anything. Didn't you know that? ;)

Zoochy Mon May 24, 2010 10:48am

A player is flat on his stomach with his hand extended out in front of him pinning the ball to the floor. Is he in control of the ball???
I do recall reading some time ago that pinning the ball is not control. Thus the Rondo play is legal. Also you would not be able to call a Time-out if a player requested one.

Adam Mon May 24, 2010 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 678291)
A player is flat on his stomach with his hand extended out in front of him pinning the ball to the floor. Is he in control of the ball???
I do recall reading some time ago that pinning the ball is not control. Thus the Rondo play is legal. Also you would not be able to call a Time-out if a player requested one.

do you have a reference to documentation of this?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1