The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Why call traveling? It's the NBE. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58187-why-call-traveling-its-nbe.html)

just another ref Sun May 23, 2010 11:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678128)


Question for those who think pinning the ball to the floor is not holding it: A1 dives for a loose ball, pinning it to the floor with one arm. B2 comes in and simultaneously pins it to the floor with one arm. Do you have a held ball here?

It is not necessary for a player to be holding the ball in order to have a held ball.

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 678133)
It is not necessary for a player to be holding the ball in order to have a held ball.

Good point, just re-read the def of held ball.
The rest of my post still stands. Are you suggesting that the rules committee wants the player to be able to stand while pinning it to the floor but not while releasing it ?

This seems to be to be the epitome of "advantage not intended by the rules."

Pinning it either has to be holding it or setting it on the floor. Either way, by rule, it's illegal (in this context).

just another ref Sun May 23, 2010 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678134)
Pinning it either has to be holding it or setting it on the floor.

Disagree. The key is control. If we say he never held the ball, (this is certainly debatable) everything is all right. If he dove on the floor, touched the ball, and it rolled away, he would certainly be able to get up and do whatever.
I don't see this play as being any different.

BillyMac Sun May 23, 2010 12:12pm

"Larry Bird-Like" ...
 
YouTube - Rajon Rondo Hustle Dive For Ball vs Orlando Magic - 2010 Playoffs

I also saw the multiple replays on ESPN. Since I only use NFHS rules in all of my games, I immediately thought legal, or illegal, and how would I have called that in my high school game, in real time?

First replay: Illegal, based on the classic 4.44.5 SITUATION B interpretation.

Second replay: Wait minute? He's not holding the ball. The ball is pinned against the floor. Also Rondo did not "put the ball on the floor, rise, and (be the) first to touch the ball". The ball was already on the floor, and he was not the first to touch after standing, he was touching it the whole, entire time. Maybe this is a legal play? "When in doubt, don't be" has been drilled into my head by both Forum members, and by the powers that be in my local board. Since I'm not really 100% sure here, after further review of the replays, I'm voting NFHS legal.

Now, from a strictly rulebook interpretation, I welcome Forum members to please try to convince me otherwise.

Jurassic Referee Sun May 23, 2010 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 678142)

Now, from a strictly rulebook interpretation, I welcome Forum members to please try to convince me otherwise.

There's only one possible way to definitively come up with the right answer. Have a poll.

BillyMac Sun May 23, 2010 01:26pm

Deliberately Provocative ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 678148)
There's only one possible way to definitively come up with the right answer. Have a poll.

http://thm-a03.yimg.com/nimage/6721bff9ad8f5bec

just another ref Sun May 23, 2010 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 678148)
There's only one possible way to definitively come up with the right answer. Have a poll.

Or maybe hit somebody with a pole.

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 03:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 678135)
Disagree. The key is control. If we say he never held the ball, (this is certainly debatable) everything is all right. If he dove on the floor, touched the ball, and it rolled away, he would certainly be able to get up and do whatever.
I don't see this play as being any different.

But the ball didn't roll away. He had complete and total control to the point where I would have granted a timeout while it was pinned.

JRutledge Sun May 23, 2010 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678160)
But the ball didn't roll away. He had complete and total control to the point where I would have granted a timeout while it was pinned.

I agree, but with that being said it is not clearly listed this is control to where a travel is concerned. Then again that is why I said earlier that I m not convinced this is technically illegal. It sounds like a play that was never considered by the NF (or NCAA that I am aware of) for legality.

Peace

Judtech Sun May 23, 2010 04:24pm

I'm with SNAQdiesel and would have called a travel based on the spirit of the rule!!

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 678171)
I agree, but with that being said it is not clearly listed this is control to where a travel is concerned. Then again that is why I said earlier that I m not convinced this is technically illegal. It sounds like a play that was never considered by the NF (or NCAA that I am aware of) for legality.

Peace

I can't disagree with this, but this is where, to me, the purpose and intent of the rules comes into play. The NFHS wants it called a travel when a player holds the ball and stands up. They want it called a travel even when a player stands completely lets go and lets the ball sit next to him while he stands. I can't imagine they want to allow a player to stand because he found a loophole somewhere between letting go and holding it, both of which they want called a travel.

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 04:30pm

I said nothing about the spirit of the rule, so perhaps your reading comprehension could use a little work.

"Intent and purpose" are, however, mentioned in the actual rule book.

JRutledge Sun May 23, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678174)
I can't disagree with this, but this is where, to me, the purpose and intent of the rules comes into play. The NFHS wants it called a travel when a player holds the ball and stands up. They want it called a travel even when a player stands completely lets go and lets the ball sit next to him while he stands. I can't imagine they want to allow a player to stand because he found a loophole somewhere between letting go and holding it, both of which they want called a travel.

Yes, but he was not "holding" the ball. The ball was on the floor. I do not consider that holding. But then again you can say he had some control possibly of the ball. I probably at first glance would have passed on this play. I do think the NF needs to clarify this if they want a travel called. I do not like to make travel calls simply because it looked funny.

Peace

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 678176)
Yes, but he was not "holding" the ball. The ball was on the floor. I do not consider that holding. But then again you can say he had some control possibly of the ball. I probably at first glance would have passed on this play. I do think the NF needs to clarify this if they want a travel called. I do not like to make travel calls simply because it looked funny.

Peace

Watching it in full speed the first time, I would have whistled it. Here's how I see the rule.

1. NFHS wants it called travel when the player is holding the ball and stands up.

2. NFHS wants it called travel when a player sets the ball down then gets up.

3. When a player does something that, for all intents and purposes, falls right in the middle of 1 and 2, I can't imagine they want that allowed.

I do think they need to clarify this, or define "holding" to include pinning the ball to the floor. It could also have ramifications for team control issues.

Judtech Sun May 23, 2010 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678175)
I said nothing about the spirit of the rule, so perhaps your reading comprehension could use a little work.

"Intent and purpose" are, however, mentioned in the actual rule book.

BLUE FONT!!!:p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1