The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   jump stop...travelling call??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57912-jump-stop-travelling-call.html)

bob jenkins Wed Apr 21, 2010 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674555)
By NCAA rules definition

Correct.

However, the term as used by many coaches, players and fans has a broader meaning, so my caveat about defining the term remains.

wanja Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:38pm

There is a difference between the NCAA and NFHS rules that I was unaware of. While the NCAA allows a pivot foot in the cited situation, the NFHS does not.


NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows

a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:

3. On one foot, the palyer may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.

just another ref Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:47pm

Actually, I believe the bottom line is the same. The player may pivot only if he ends the dribble with both feet off the floor. Then, if he lands on one foot followed by the other, the first to touch is the pivot. If he lands on both simultaneously, either can be the pivot.

Main difference is NFHS does not muddy up the water by defining jump stop.

Camron Rust Thu Apr 22, 2010 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674596)
There is a difference between the NCAA and NFHS rules that I was unaware of. While the NCAA allows a pivot foot in the cited situation, the NFHS does not.

THe difference is NOT what you seem to be saying it is. In fact, both rules agree. These two rules are NOT talking about the same situation

Let's label the actions that are occuring as follows:

A = Airborne
C = Catch the ball
O = Landing on and Jumping from one foot
T = Land on two feet
P = Pivot

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674596)

NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

This situation, using my labels as defined above, is

A - O - A - C - A - T - P (pivot is legal here)

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674596)
NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows

a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:

3. On one foot, the palyer may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.

This situation, using my labels as defined above, is

A - C - A - O - A - T - P (pivot is illegal here)

Note that the point of the "Catch" is different between these two.

One has the ball being caught after the jump from one foot (pivot allowed) where the other has the ball being caught before the jump (no pivot allowed).

Both sequences are judged the same in both rule sets...they're just written a bit differently.

BillyMac Thu Apr 22, 2010 06:47am

Sammy, Give Me A Little Traveling Music ...
 
Many believe that the toughest call for basketball officials is the block/charge call. Yes, it's a tough call, especially when the official is unprepared for the play, and the call.

When I'm asked about my toughest calls, I always answer traveling. We probably see a lot more traveling/no traveling calls in a game than block/charges, and speaking for myself, I'm sure that if I broke down video from all of my games, that I would have made the wrong traveling call/noncall more than any other violation, or foul. Knowing the rule and definition to properly make this call is the beginning. Then the official has to be able to properly recognize these "moves" on the court as being legal, or illegal. Just because it looks "odd" doesn't mean it's a violation, and just because it looks like a "basketball move" doesn't mean it's legal.

I think that this thread shows the difficulty of properly calling, or not calling, traveling.

Jurassic Referee Thu Apr 22, 2010 06:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674596)
There is a difference between the NCAA and NFHS rules that I was unaware of.

There are absolutely NO differences between the NCAA and NFHS traveling rules. NCAA rule 4-70 and NFHS rule 4-43 are identical and always have been.

What is confusing is the NCAA using different definitions for a "jump stop", with each different definition also being covered by a different rule. Apples and freaking oranges iow. And that's exactly why imo we should just forget about using "jump stop" terminology completely and simply use the appropriate and relevant rules reference instead.

wanja Thu Apr 22, 2010 08:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 674603)
These two rules are NOT talking about the same situation

Let's label the actions that are occuring as follows:

A = Airborne
C = Catch the ball
O = Landing on and Jumping from one foot
T = Land on two feet
P = Pivot

Good catch and interesting approach. NFHS 4-44-2b (see below) is a closer but not exact match to the cited NCAA wording. Using your approach what do you have comparing these 2?

In the NFHS rules, any reference to a pivot foot after jumping off one foot and landing on 2 says it is not allowed. Unlike the NCAA rule, there is no reference that says it is allowed. I'll try to run this up the flag through my state interpreter to see if we can get a definitive NFHS clarification. Here is how I would pose the question:

Under NFHS rules, is there any circumstance that a player in control of the ball can jump off one foot, land on two and have a pivot foot available?

--------------------------
NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows

b. If one foot is on the floor:

2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.


NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

APG Thu Apr 22, 2010 09:02am

Is there really this much discussion about the jump stop? :confused: The rule seems real clear to me:

1.) If a player catches the ball/ends the dribble with a foot on the ground, jumps, and lands on both feet, then the player can't pivot.

2.) If jumps off of one foot, catches the ball/ends the dribble, then lands on both feet, either foot can be the pivot foot.

Coaches and players refer to both as a jump stop and the NCAA rule defines both as such. It has been my experience that you see play 2 done more, especially off the dribble.

bob jenkins Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674620)
Good catch and interesting approach. NFHS 4-44-2b (see below) is a closer but not exact match to the cited NCAA wording. Using your approach what do you have comparing these 2?

In the NFHS rules, any reference to a pivot foot after jumping off one foot and landing on 2 says it is not allowed. Unlike the NCAA rule, there is no reference that says it is allowed. I'll try to run this up the flag through my state interpreter to see if we can get a definitive NFHS clarification. Here is how I would pose the question:

Under NFHS rules, is there any circumstance that a player in control of the ball can jump off one foot, land on two and have a pivot foot available?

--------------------------
NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows

b. If one foot is on the floor:

2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.


NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

In the NFHS rule you quote, the player has ended his dribble with one foot on the floor. It's the same as the first part of the NCAA rule you've quoted so many times.

In the second part of the NCAA rule you have above, the dribble does not end with one foot on the floor.

You're trying to compare apples and oranges.

just another ref Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674620)


Under NFHS rules, is there any circumstance that a player in control of the ball can jump off one foot, land on two and have a pivot foot available?



Yes, if he ends his dribble while airborne, the same as the NCAA rule.

Jurassic Referee Thu Apr 22, 2010 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674620)
1) NFHS Rule 4
Section 44. Traveling
Article 2. A player <font color = red>who catches the ball while moving or dribbling</font>, may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
b. <font color = red>If one foot is on the floor:</font>
2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in that case.


2) NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot,<font color = red> ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court</font> and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot)

And you're still missing the point!!!!!!

In #1 (NFHS rule 4-44-2(b)2 that you cited above), The player caught the ball(ended their dribble) with one foot ON the floor.

In #2 above( NCAA rule 4-44(jump stop), the player caught the ball and ended their dribble with both feet OFF the court.

These are two completely different and disparate acts, and both rulesets treat them as such. And both rulesets are exactly the same when it comes to determination of the pivot foot for #1 and #2. You're trying to compare 2 acts that aren't comparable. And that's why you're confusing the hell outa everybody.

Camron Rust Thu Apr 22, 2010 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674620)
Good catch and interesting approach. NFHS 4-44-2b (see below) is a closer but not exact match to the cited NCAA wording. Using your approach what do you have comparing these 2?

In the NFHS rules, any reference to a pivot foot after jumping off one foot and landing on 2 says it is not allowed. Unlike the NCAA rule, there is no reference that says it is allowed.

Correct...

....but all references in the NFHS book are preceded with "A1 catches the ball then..." The NFHS assumption is that until the time A1 catches the ball, what happened before doesn't really matter.

...and the NCAA reference being discussed states that A1 jumps from one foot, then catches the ball. It doesn't really matter that it is form one foot. A player can also jump from two feet, then catch the ball, land on two feet simultaneously, and pivot with either foot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674620)

I'll try to run this up the flag through my state interpreter to see if we can get a definitive NFHS clarification. Here is how I would pose the question:

Under NFHS rules, is there any circumstance that a player in control of the ball can jump off one foot, land on two and have a pivot foot available?

A player who hasn't caught the ball yet can jump off of one (or even two feet) without restriction. That is all the NCAA rule is saying. The NFHS rule is the same but it is not so explicitly spelled out.

bainsey Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 674589)
the term as used by many coaches, players and fans has a broader meaning, so my caveat about defining the term remains.

Bob, shouldn't the caveat be reserved for those that use the term improperly? Don't we gradually see a far bigger mess and overall confusion when we allow terms to get away from their definition?

Camron Rust Fri Apr 23, 2010 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 674727)
Bob, shouldn't the caveat be reserved for those that use the term improperly? Don't we gradually see a far bigger mess and overall confusion when we allow terms to get away from their definition?

Except....

This term is not actually defined. It is merely referenced in the process of describing a move in the traveling definition.

That doesn't exclude other valid meanings.

bainsey Fri Apr 23, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 674738)
This term is not actually defined.

Then what did Nevada post earlier?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1