The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   jump stop...travelling call??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57912-jump-stop-travelling-call.html)

Judtech Tue Apr 20, 2010 06:09pm

I'm glad SOMEONE picked that up.

bainsey Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 674392)
This term is so widely used to describe both moves that there is no point in arguing that one is not a jump stop....they both are.

Two counterpoints here:

First, it's not a jump stop, for aformentioned reasons here.

Second, we have enough difficulty battling rule myths and misconceptions out there. These myths and general ignorance are, often times, the basis for misunderstandings about our work and rulings. We don't need to add "jump stop" to the list of misunderstood terms, when we already have so many other with which to deal.

You don't to argue what the correct term is. Simply state it. If they don't like it, you're not the one starting the argument.

Nevadaref Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 674481)
Two counterpoints here:

First, it's not a jump stop, for aformentioned reasons here.

Second, we have enough difficulty battling rule myths and misconceptions out there. These myths and general ignorance are, often times, the basis for misunderstandings about our work and rulings. We don't need to add "jump stop" to the list of misunderstood terms, when we already have so many other with which to deal.

You don't to argue what the correct term is. Simply state it. If they don't like it, you're not the one starting the argument.

Or one could simply adhere to the definitions given in the NCAA rules book! :p

Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving
or dribbling with:
a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands
simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot
and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot on
the playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both
feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot
can be established as the pivot foot).

Camron Rust Wed Apr 21, 2010 01:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674399)
It is simply the legal establishment and subsequent legal movement of a pivot foot. It is not a jump stop.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 674481)
Two counterpoints here:

First, it's not a jump stop, for aformentioned reasons here.

Second, we have enough difficulty battling rule myths and misconceptions out there.

Looks like it is a jump stop...take a look at Nevada's post just above where he cites the NCAA rule. It does indeed define BOTH moves as a "jump stop".

wanja Wed Apr 21, 2010 07:27am

Jump stop definition.

What part of jump off one foot and land on 2 is unclear?

Do see the NCAA rule below. The "Did you see that jump stop?" article in the current issue of Referee magazine also restates the jump stop definition emphasizing jump off one font and land on two as follows:

A player may catch the ball while airborne, land on one foot and then jump to land on both feet simultaneously. or may catch the ball while on one foot and then jump to two simultaneously. The key is from one foot alone to two feet together. Any other variation is traveling.


NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
Art. 1. A jump stop is executed when a player catches the ball while moving
or dribbling with:
a. One foot on the playing court, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
b. Two feet off the playing court, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (no pivot foot).
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).[/QUOTE]

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 21, 2010 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674497)

Do see the NCAA rule below. The "Did you see that jump stop?" article in the current issue of Referee magazine also restates the jump stop definition emphasizing jump off one font and land on two as follows:

[I]A player may catch the ball while airborne, land on one foot and then jump to land on both feet simultaneously. or may catch the ball while on one foot and then jump to two simultaneously. The key is from one foot alone to two feet together. <font color = red>Any other variation is traveling.</font>


And that statement highlighted in red is complete and utter nonsense, as well as being misleading. There IS another variation that isn't traveling. It very conveniently leaves out the third legal alternative---->an airborne player landing on one foot followed by the other. In that case, the first foot to land is the pivot foot and it sureashell is NOT traveling.

In case anybody's wondering, that's NCAA rule 4-70--3(a)2. It's exactly the same as NFHS rule 4-43-2(a). The traveling rules haven't changed in the last 50 years.

Again, all this nonsense is doing is just confusing the hell outa everybody imho. Forget about the terminology of stoopid jump stops and just learn the traveling rules. It's that freaking simple. And if any coach ever questions a traveling call, your reply is just as simple...."Coach, your player established their pivot foot after landing. Then your player lifted that pivot foot and brought it back down again while still holding the ball. That's traveling." And that's also it! End of conversation, turn back to coach, put ball back into play, Adios, amigos!

Lah me....paralysis through analysis again. :rolleyes:

wanja Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 674504)
And that statement highlighted in red is complete and utter nonsense, as well as being misleading. There IS another variation that isn't traveling. It very conveniently leaves out the third legal alternative---->an airborne player landing on one foot followed by the other. In that case, the first foot to land is the pivot foot and it sure as hell is NOT traveling.

Of course what you described is not traveling. That one line of the article should have been better written and the writer should have left if it out and avoided a distraction.

The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition?

A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available?

Please answer the questions.

Pantherdreams Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:18am

Whose definition of jump stop are we using to answer these questions? hehehehehe:D

bob jenkins Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674508)
Of course what you described is not traveling. That one line of the article should have been better written and the writer should have left if it out and avoided a distraction.

The point is that a jump stop involves jumping off of one foot and landing on two. Starting with you Jurassic, does anyone disagree with this and if so how do you reconcile it with the NCAA rule definition?

A secondary question is does anyone, starting with you Jurassic, disagree that after a jump stop, no pivot foot is available?

Please answer the questions.

1) Agreed

2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop.

Jurassic Referee Wed Apr 21, 2010 02:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674497)

NCAA Rule 4
Section 44. Jump Stop
Art. 2. A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet <font color = red>(either foot can be established as the pivot foot)</font>.

And there's the rules citation to back up Bob.

And that's exactly why this discussion is causing so damn much confusion. You've got two completely different and disparate actions rules-wise, with both being classified as "jump stops".

wanja Wed Apr 21, 2010 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 674523)
2) Disagree. The NCAA rule says "either foot can be established as the pivot foot" under one type of jump stop.

Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.

mbyron Wed Apr 21, 2010 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674543)
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

The shooter may legally perform a jump stop prior to releasing the try if she is moving or dribbling, and with one foot on the court, she jumps off that foot and simultaneously lands on both feet. From that position she may jump and release a try, but may not pivot on either foot.

Why would it? Bob's referring to one type of jump stop, and this ruling refers to another. :shrug:

bob jenkins Wed Apr 21, 2010 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674543)
Bob, does this quote taken directly from the 2009/2010 NCAA women's basketball points of emphasis change your position?

No.

The quote says nothing about the "type 2" (from 4-44.2) jump stop. It deals exclusively with the "type 1" (4-44.1) jump stop.

wanja Wed Apr 21, 2010 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 674541)
And there's the rules citation to back up Bob.

A jump stop may also be executed when the dribbler has one foot onthe playing court, initiates a jump off that foot, ends the dribble with both feet off the playing court and lands simultaneously on both feet (either foot can be established as the pivot foot).

I think Bob and I (and you?) are almost in agreement. I missed the allowable NCAA pivot foot movement after a jump stop from one foot to 2 on the dribble. Even in that case the definition of a jump stop requires jumping from one foot to 2.

Here's what Bob and I agree upon. By NCAA rules definition

1. a jump stop involves jumping from 1 foot and landing simultaneously on 2
2. in the specific case noted, establishment of a pivot foot is allowed


I'm in full agreement with Bob if he can go for: by NCAA rule, a jump stop always involves jumping from 1 foot and landing on 2 feet simultaneously.

How about it Bob?

just another ref Wed Apr 21, 2010 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wanja (Post 674555)

I missed the allowable NCAA pivot foot movement after a jump stop from one foot to 2 on the dribble. Even in that case the definition of a jump stop requires jumping from one foot to 2.

But the problem is, this definition of jump stop, in and of itself, means nothing.
The key to whether a pivot is allowed after the stop is when the dribble ended, if the dribble ends with both feet off the floor, it doesn't matter whether the dribbler jumped off one foot or both.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1