The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shooter shoots at wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57359-shooter-shoots-wrong-basket.html)

Hartsy Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 665741)
Maybe I'm mistaken (always a possibility), but I was under the impression that the player's stats were not recorded in the footnotes. It's not the same thing.

So you say that if it isn't reflected in A2's stats it isn't credited to A2? I disagree. If the footnote says A2 scored the points, A2 was credited with the points. The points are part of Team B's stats, Team A should be credited with those points (per a footnote), not A2.

Adam Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 665754)
So you say that if it isn't reflected in A2's stats it isn't credited to A2? I disagree. If the footnote says A2 scored the points, A2 was credited with the points. The points are part of Team B's stats, Team A should be credited with those points (per a footnote), not A2.

Are A2's points tracked in the footnotes?

Hartsy Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 665755)
Are A2's points tracked in the footnotes?

Surely not. But Team B is given points from somewhere, and the rule says they come from TEAM A, not PLAYER A2, and that is what gets recorded in the footnote.

Raymond Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 665755)
Are A2's points tracked in the footnotes?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 665756)
Surely not. But Team B is given points from somewhere, and the rule says they come from TEAM A, not PLAYER A2, and that is what gets recorded in the footnote.

Boy, we sure are getting into the weeds on this one. I personally don't care if the footnote reads A2 or Team A, as long as there is a footnote to account for the points when it's time to reconcile the score.

Adam Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 665756)
Surely not. But Team B is given points from somewhere, and the rule says they come from TEAM A, not PLAYER A2, and that is what gets recorded in the footnote.

The rule doens't say what to put in the footnote:

Quote:

If a player scores a field goal in the opponent's basket, it is not credited to a player, but is indicated in a footnote.
A literal reading of this would tell me that the footnote is the place to say "who" made the error, if the statistician feels the need to do so. If it was credited, it would go somewhere else; you know, where the rest of A2's points are credited.

Hartsy Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 665759)
Boy, we sure are getting into the weeds on this one. I personally don't care if the footnote reads A2 or Team A, as long as there is a footnote to account for the points when it's time to reconcile the score.

There ya go!

Camron Rust Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 665756)
Surely not. But Team B is given points from somewhere, and the rule says they come from TEAM A, not PLAYER A2, and that is what gets recorded in the footnote.

No it does not.

There is no mention of anything like that in either the rule or the case play.

The rule say ONLY that is is "not credited to a player, but is indicated in a footnote".

Crediting something to a player is putting it on that player's line in the book....their individual point section. Putting anything in a note is not crediting it to a player, it is just a note. The "not credited to a player" is there to address the myth of crediting the goal to the closest player of team to whom the points are awarded. They don't get the points by being nearby...only the team does.


The whole point of a footnote is to describe where those two extra points for B came from (since they don't appear by a B player's name). When someone looks back at the book later, they know what happened. What exactly should that footnote say? The book makes NO mention of what to include in the note....nothing. It should basically include enough info to clearly indicate where those 2 points came from. More detail is better then less. Noting that A2 is the one who threw the ball into B's basket is perfectly acceptable.

To argue that anything put in the note is wrong is completely made up.

Hartsy Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 665760)
The rule doens't say what to put in the footnote:



A literal reading of this would tell me that the footnote is the place to say "who" made the error, if the statistician feels the need to do so. If it was credited, it would go somewhere else; you know, where the rest of A2's points are credited.

I can see it this way, though you do indicate by your wording here (the rest of A2's points) that a footnote mentioning A2 does credit A2 with the points, it's just not crediting them in the same place in the scorebook. ;)

Adam Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 665764)
I can see it this way, though you do indicate by your wording here (the rest of A2's points) that a footnote mentioning A2 does credit A2 with the points, it's just not crediting them in the same place in the scorebook. ;)

If anything, it's crediting A2 with making a boneheaded mistake.

jeffpea Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:54pm

thank you to all......representing, snaqwells, hartsy, jurassic referee....for giving me one hell of a headache (caused by simmering laughter followed by a violent slam of my had against the nearest wall)!

i was curious to see how long this discussion (which is a complete waste of time) would go (boy there's 10 minutes of my life I'll never get back...:rolleyes:)

can I make a suggestion to everyone who posts on this board? stop having to always be right.

you all are saying essentially the same thing and arguing over who is right and who is wrong because you have an insatiable desire to be right and prove others wrong....

while we officials strive to "always be right", please understand that is a goal that can NEVER be accomplished....

back to your regularly scheduled programming...:)

Upward ref Wed Mar 03, 2010 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 665759)
Boy, we sure are getting into the weeds on this one. I personally don't care if the footnote reads A2 or Team A, as long as there is a footnote to account for the points when it's time to reconcile the score.

Where the heck is CHSEagle when you need him ? Be glad when the census is over !:rolleyes:

Adam Wed Mar 03, 2010 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffpea (Post 666006)
thank you to all......representing, snaqwells, hartsy, jurassic referee....for giving me one hell of a headache (caused by simmering laughter followed by a violent slam of my had against the nearest wall)!

i was curious to see how long this discussion (which is a complete waste of time) would go (boy there's 10 minutes of my life I'll never get back...:rolleyes:)

can I make a suggestion to everyone who posts on this board? stop having to always be right.

you all are saying essentially the same thing and arguing over who is right and who is wrong because you have an insatiable desire to be right and prove others wrong....

while we officials strive to "always be right", please understand that is a goal that can NEVER be accomplished....

back to your regularly scheduled programming...:)

Feel free to stop reading my posts, you wouldn't be the first. How's the air up there?

Mark Padgett Wed Mar 03, 2010 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffpea (Post 666006)
while we officials strive to "always be right", please understand that is a goal that can NEVER be accomplished....

Speak for yourself. ;)

BillyMac Wed Mar 03, 2010 05:16pm

What's The Alternative ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffpea (Post 666006)
Can I make a suggestion to everyone who posts on this board? Stop having to always be right.

No problem. From now on I will only post wrong answers to questions. In my case, that won't be too difficult to do.

Shooting at the wrong basket counts double for the team that scored, but then the player that scored in the wrong basket gets a two minute penalty and his team has to play four against five, unless he's physically restrained by the third base coach, in which case it's intentional grounding. How's that?

M&M Guy Wed Mar 03, 2010 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 666095)
How's that?

It's warrants a yellow card. Go sit in the penalty box.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1