The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 26, 2010, 03:05pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
T or no call

Team B up by four with 20 seconds left, team A launches a three that is an air-ball, wide left by about a foot. B1, on the right side of the basket, jumps for the rebound, contacts the the net while the try is in the air and grabs long enough to move the rim.

Clearly not BI according to 6-1, 6-2, or 6-4, because the ball never made it to the basket or cylinder. But is it a technical according to 10-3-4b?

I was in the stands, but my good friend ruled no call because he thought it to be unintentional. 10-3-4b does say intentional. On the other hand, if he was going for the rebound he had no reason (other than instinct) to grab the net.

This was a HS noncompetitive rec league, but it was the championship game. I was not the ref because my son was playing and I disqualified myself. Oh yeah- my son won!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
infeild fly, call/no call canump Softball 15 Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:49am
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1