The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
What if, the ball is in front of A1 and A2? In other words, it's on the inbond side of the end line. Even though both players are out of bounds, is it still a violation since the throw in has not ended?
__________________
"I'll talk to the organ grinder, but NOT the monkey."

--- Famous Cleveland area official to HC

"I Love Officiating so much, I do it for free. However, I charge for all the crap I take."

--- Me
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 08:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75 View Post
What if, the ball is in front of A1 and A2? In other words, it's on the inbond side of the end line. Even though both players are out of bounds, is it still a violation since the throw in has not ended?
No violation and the throw-in does end when the ball was legally touched in-bounds as above.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75 View Post
What if, the ball is in front of A1 and A2? In other words, it's on the inbond side of the end line. Even though both players are out of bounds, is it still a violation since the throw in has not ended?
Ignats,
I am not sure exactly whether you are asking a different question completely or if you are asking a question related to the OP. If you are asking a question related to the OP -- in other words, is the defense penalized for touching the ball, in this case, I would ask two questions. If a player holds the ball over the out of bounds line into the court, can the defender touch/grab the ball? In other words, if A1 extends the ball onto the court and B1 grabs the ball resulting in simultaneous possession, do you call a held ball or a technical foul? How YOU answer these questions will lead you to the answer to your question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
As I thought it through after posting------duh. That's what I get for posting before coffee
__________________
"I'll talk to the organ grinder, but NOT the monkey."

--- Famous Cleveland area official to HC

"I Love Officiating so much, I do it for free. However, I charge for all the crap I take."

--- Me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1