![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Don't have an answer for ya on that one. I'm just giving my opinion on the interpretation.
|
|
|||
|
Unclear NBA Rule
To be honest, the rule is unclear in many ways. It says: Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.
The NCAA book says passes over the backboard while the NBA rule book makes it sound like if the ball is passed behind the backboard--not necessarily over the backboard--it is out of bounds. Yet another good reason to watch high school and college ball.
__________________
Bob Paulson, Ph.D. |
|
|||
|
Without looking.....
Doesn't the NBA rule say it can't go behind the board, as opposed to over the top of the board?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Would that make a pass from one player to another that goes along the endline illegal, since that would be behind the backboard?
|
|
|||
|
Yes, my last post was a quote from the NBA book. When they say behind the backboard do they include the virtual plane to the floor and ceiling--I think not.
__________________
Bob Paulson, Ph.D. |
|
|||
|
From the 2009-2010 NBA Rule Book
RULE NO. 8—OUT-OF-BOUNDS AND THROW-IN Section II—Ball b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds. NBA Casebook 2009-2010 II. BACKBOARD 6. On an unsuccessful field goal attempt, the ball hits the basket ring and rebounds over and behind the face of the backboard. The ball returns to the floor and touches inbounds without having touched any of the backboard supports. Is the ball to remain in play? No. A violation shall be called on the last team to touch the ball before it went directly behind the backboard. The ball is awarded to the opposing team for a throw-in at the free throw line extended. RULE 8 - SECTION II - b 7. Player A1 has control of the ball near the endline and passes the ball behind the backboard (never touching the supports) to Player A2. Is this legal or illegal? Illegal. Same reason as #6 above. RULE 8 - SECTION II - b The ball is only out of bounds if it passes DIRECTLY over the backboard in either direction. Two shots by Kobe Bryant and LeBron James earlier in the season were legal because they did not pass directly over the top of the backboard but at an angle. And looking at the play in question, that would be a legal play under NBA rules as it was not directly over the top of the backboard Last edited by APG; Mon Feb 15, 2010 at 02:06am. |
|
|||
|
Notice that the NBA rule says "directly over" the backboard. IOW, only a shot taken from inside the lane and immediately behind the backboard will be disallowed.
Kobe's and LeBron's shots were legal by this rule, as they were near the edge of or outside the lane. The NFHS rule does not employ the word "directly," and thus receives different enforcement.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Slapping backboard on shot | jodibuck | Basketball | 15 | Fri Feb 01, 2008 10:41am |
| behind the backboard shot | ripcord51 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:57pm |
| shot over backboard | LouisianaDave | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 07:59pm |
| NBA shot over backboard | whit | Basketball | 1 | Thu May 29, 2003 02:54am |
| Shot over the Backboard | Smoke | Basketball | 12 | Tue Mar 14, 2000 11:53am |