The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:07am
Official Forum Member

New ref in Texas - chapter question(s)

What a great forum! Yes - addicting, as another new member posted previously...

My background is all volunteer stuff at mostly the church-league level, but I just love it and want to go ahead and join one of the local TASO chapters here. Looks like I live right about where the Dallas chapter and a slightly further outlying chapter meet/overlap... And, for discussion's sake, my day job puts me about 25-30 minutes further into the Dallas chapter's coverage.

I'd love to hear advice/recommendations as to how I should proceed... pros and cons of maybe a bigger, more populous chapter where I currently do not know anyone... vs. a chapter with probably smaller numbers and schools that are fewer, smaller, and farther in between (and where I just figured out a childhood best friend coordinates the chapter training... Do people ever join multiple chapters?...

Thanks so much for any input and for the excellent resource that this forum has already been...
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:17am
TODO: creative title here

Can't speak for Texas, but I know that joining multiple associations for a single sport/competition level (ex: high school basketball) is frowned upon rather highly here. All of the association bigwigs and assigners know each other, so it doesn't take them long to figure out if you're working for more then one of them.

My advice: figure out where each association schedules most of their games, and join the association that schedules games that are easiest for you to get to from wherever it is you'll be on gameday.
Old Thu Feb 11, 2010, 11:19am
Keeper of the HAMMER

Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post