The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 08:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
NCAA Question - Technical

Was watching Gardner Webb University play the other night. There was a call on the opposite end from Gardner Webb's bench. One of the GW players stood up (along with the coach) to argue a little, and the player came about 2 feet onto the court from the bench. Only one foot was out that far the other was still in the bench area.

The official saw this and pointed the player out and called a Technical Foul. Was this a player technical or bench technical. I'm not sure with NCAA rules. I'm guess 6 players on the court, or unsporting behavior??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 73
I'd bet it was a player technical for the jawing. You'd want to notch another foul on him.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatter View Post
I'd bet it was a player technical for the jawing. You'd want to notch another foul on him.
Well that's the thing. He didn't jaw. I heard him saw "Come on" when he jumped up and sort of made a arm movement. But other than that he didn't keep jawing.

Is there a rule about rising from the bench in manner to enter into an argument with an official. Could he have used the "unsporting behavior"??

I would bet that the stepping onto the court was the act that finished and sealed the deal for the Technical
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 38
Class A technical to A1 for unsporting conduct. (Coming off the bench and waving arms is good enough for me) Counts as a personal to him and goes toward team A's foul count for that half. Team B is awarded two free throws and ball is put into play at POI. If Team B was in possession when the technical was assessed - reset the shot clock to 35.

Since he was a bench player, also assessed as a Class B technical to the head coach of Team A (no additional free throws nor does it add to Team A's foul count) The Class B does count toward Coach A for ejection purposes. A combination of two more Class B technicals or a Class A and another Class B would see him in the locker room early.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Well that's the thing. He didn't jaw. I heard him saw "Come on" when he jumped up and sort of made a arm movement. But other than that he didn't keep jawing.
...
For a bench player, this is all it takes.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,446
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoInZebra View Post
Class A technical to A1 for unsporting conduct. (Coming off the bench and waving arms is good enough for me) Counts as a personal to him and goes toward team A's foul count for that half. Team B is awarded two free throws and ball is put into play at POI. If Team B was in possession when the technical was assessed - reset the shot clock to 35.

Since he was a bench player, also assessed as a Class B technical to the head coach of Team A (no additional free throws nor does it add to Team A's foul count) The Class B does count toward Coach A for ejection purposes. A combination of two more Class B technicals or a Class A and another Class B would see him in the locker room early.

oh my.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 09:21am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Well that's the thing. He didn't jaw. I heard him saw "Come on" when he jumped up and sort of made a arm movement. But other than that he didn't keep jawing.

Is there a rule about rising from the bench in manner to enter into an argument with an official. Could he have used the "unsporting behavior"??

I would bet that the stepping onto the court was the act that finished and sealed the deal for the Technical
He doesn't have to jaw. Protesting is not an authorized reason for a player to stand. That's a pretty easy call, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 03, 2010, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Yeah I wasn't sure if there was a specific rule that is different than NFHS in the NCAA. I haven't had this problem yet, but if he starts the arm movement and remarks that's probably enough for me too for a bench player.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Technical Fouls eyezen Basketball 4 Thu Oct 16, 2008 08:09pm
NCAA Men - Double Technical Question All_Heart Basketball 1 Sat Nov 04, 2006 04:15pm
NCAA Technical Fouls Jurassic Referee Basketball 1 Thu Jan 26, 2006 04:50pm
NCAA Technical Procedure harmbu Basketball 2 Fri Feb 13, 2004 02:08pm
TECHNICAL PENALTY NCAA rburn22281 Basketball 1 Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1