![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That was what I thought however the same partner who overturned my call on my "shame one me/partner" post told me that I got that one wrong as well. Again this situation was not on my game but his response to me was that "you better hit the rule book again." Some people just think that they know it all, and in reality don't. I guess he better get in the rule book again.
|
|
|||
I feel like I am a good official but I lack confidence sometimes. I also feel like I am low man on the totem pole with this assignor as I was just picked up this year and the guy I was working with has been working with the assignor from the start, only about 2 yrs. I need to gain more confidence as I have a good idea of what I am doing (by good idea I mean that I basically know but from time to time could use a few pointers. Likely just the way everyone else is and that is why we frequent this page.)
|
|
||||
I understand. I'd feel out the association a bit longer before you start blocking partners. Now you know this guy is just a GIGDGO partner.
Did he bother to tell you the right procedure?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
He did not bother to tell me the right procedure. I would only guess that is because he didn't know it.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Of course the above is what you'd like to do. I'd respectfully tell him that the situation got you thinking and you looked it up trying to learn from it and you thought you'd share it with him how you understand it. If he blows you off, drop it. He knows he's wrong, but not big enough to admit it. I made a bet with a state final guy in my early years over a situation which we differed on and I was correct. Next time I saw him he paid up, which I didn't care about, but he insisted. Said alot about him. |
|
|||
Bob, by rule, would you stop play if suddenly light bulb went off that player has six or wait for dead ball? I'm thinking specifically if opposing team had an advantage on breakaway or similar situation.
|
|
|||
I'm waiting until the fouler's team has the ball or there's a break in action (similar to an injury situation). I think the casebook has a situation where the table realized they should have informed the officials of the 5th foul, and they are to wait until the ball is possessed by the (should-be) disqualified player's team before immediately hitting the horn.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bad situation. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 14 | Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:46am |
Sub situation | cowbyfan1 | Basketball | 5 | Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:18am |
Question posed by NCAA official | RookieDude | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 13, 2005 07:17am |
FT Situation | williebfree | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 29, 2003 07:54am |
Another HBP situation | Buckeye12 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 01:41pm |