The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:23pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
POI, double foul question

A has the ball and then loose ball and A1 and B1 foul each other. Does ball go back to A?

A Inbounds play and A2 and B2 foul each other. AP or POI there? What if the ball has been released and there is no control?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
A has the ball and then loose ball and A1 and B1 foul each other. Does ball go back to A?

A Inbounds play and A2 and B2 foul each other. AP or POI there? What if the ball has been released and there is no control?

1) "loose ball" isn't defined, so the question can't be answered. Use terms like "team control".

2) What does 4-POI say about a double foul during "such activity or if a team is entitled to such?"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:10pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
got it, nice thread about it from before that I forgot. Team A retains ball.

"The ball goes back to A for a throw-in. The AP arrow does not figure into this at all.

NFHS 4-36-2-b "A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

The interruption occurred during the throw-in. The POI is the throw-in."

"Scrapper1 posted this a few weeks ago. I haven't had time to go through all the various permutations, but I think it works:

If the double foul happens:
a) during a free throw or throwin, you resume with the free throw or throwin;
b) after a foul or violation, then you resume by administering the penalty for the foul or violation;
c) while the ball's in play and there's team control, then you simply give a throwin to the team in control;
d) when there is no team control, and there's no way to know who would have gotten the ball, then,
and only then, you go to the possession arrow. "

and if the ball has been put in play and touched but no control then that would be AP.

Throw-in, Double Foul
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 06:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
got it, nice thread about it from before that I forgot. Team A retains ball.

"The ball goes back to A for a throw-in. The AP arrow does not figure into this at all.

NFHS 4-36-2-b "A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

The interruption occurred during the throw-in. The POI is the throw-in."

"Scrapper1 posted this a few weeks ago. I haven't had time to go through all the various permutations, but I think it works:

If the double foul happens:
a) during a free throw or throwin, you resume with the free throw or throwin;
b) after a foul or violation, then you resume by administering the penalty for the foul or violation;
c) while the ball's in play and there's team control, then you simply give a throwin to the team in control;
d) when there is no team control, and there's no way to know who would have gotten the ball, then,
and only then, you go to the possession arrow. "

and if the ball has been put in play and touched but no control then that would be AP.

Throw-in, Double Foul
Basically, a double foul is like an inadvertent whistle except two players (and their teams) get charged with fouls.... Nothing to see here folks, just continue what you were doing or going to do. If it was indeterminate, go AP.

I dislike lists when it is possible to express a rule as principle. Principles will (almost) always get you to the right result no matter the situation...even new ones that might pop up. Just have to memorized the exceptions (sometimes known as bad interpretations ).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double whistle- violation/foul question mutantducky Basketball 12 Sat Jan 23, 2010 02:08pm
Double Foul POI question PIAA REF Basketball 17 Wed Sep 30, 2009 07:54am
Double Foul - Question 2 SC Ump Football 4 Tue Jul 07, 2009 07:44am
double foul? jr Basketball 21 Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:02pm
Another double foul question ChuckElias Basketball 4 Thu Feb 09, 2006 02:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1