The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Timeout During Throw-In??

Obviously there is no team control on a throw-in, so can any team call a time-out? Or can just the team that the throw-in is in control of call a timeout?.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 09:31pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Ball must be in control of a player or at disposal of a player for the team to be granted a timeout.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
The situation I had was I had a throw-in on the baseline for Team A. I had the ball in my hand and as soon as I raised it I heard "Time Out" from Team B Coach. Clearly it was when I had the ball to administer the throw-in. However, my motion continued and the ball bounced to Player A. He grabbed the ball and that is when I blew my whistle to grant the Time-out. I didn't get any heat from Team A's coach, but wondered if I handled it correctly
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 09:59pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
The ball is not at the disposal of the player until he catches it. You got it right.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 64
Send a message via AIM to StripesOhio
Even if you hear the request but don't process it while the ball is going to the player. You can still grant the request even if Player A has the ball for a throw-in. You can just say you were granting the request before you gave the ball but didn't blow your whistle immediately.

Sort of like the slow/late whistle on a foul to let the play develop. We can't always blow the whistle exactly when something happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Ball must be in control of a player or at disposal of a player for the team to be granted a timeout.
True if it's a live ball.

On the play at hand, it's a dead ball, and either team can be granted a TO (assuming nothing else is "pending" that prohibits the request from being granted).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeout during free throw????? jritchie Basketball 28 Thu Mar 15, 2007 03:05pm
Spot for throw-in after timeout...incorrect info lookin2improve Basketball 3 Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:27am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
timeout during a free throw yankeesfan Basketball 2 Sat Feb 21, 2004 11:41pm
Timeout Bchill24 Basketball 20 Fri Nov 08, 2002 11:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1