The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:22am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
more of a...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If he is clearly in control of the dribble it is a violation when he steps out. In the OP when the dribbler lost his balance I pictured him also losing control of the ball.
... leaving the ball in a spot. One last bounce, like, "you stay here, I'll be right back"
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:28am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... leaving the ball in a spot. One last bounce, like, "you stay here, I'll be right back"
Judgment call. Did he lose control before he went out of bounds, or did he voluntarily abandon the dribble after he stepped out of bounds?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:28am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
I supose you could make the case...

... that a player leaving a dribble behind (abandoning like you suggest) and then returning to it is a momentary loss of control, whether they intended to or not.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
He's no longer a dribbler when he steps out? I can see an interrupted dribble when off their leg, but in original stich, player bounced the ball with every intention to return to it. Is that "momentarily getting away" from the dribbler?
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... leaving the ball in a spot. One last bounce, like, "you stay here, I'll be right back"
There is nothing wrong with purposely relinquishing player control before falling OOB and then returning and either catching the ball or continuing the dribble. It's legal either way. Just watch for a double-dribble (illegal 2nd dribble) violation.

Please review the following plays from the Case Book. They should straighten this out for you.

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the
floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns
inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not
leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and
momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back
onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and
did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into
A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately
returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores.
RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:33am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There is nothing wrong with purposely relinquishing player control before falling OOB and then returning and either catching the ball or continuing the dribble. It's legal either way. Just watch for a double-dribble (illegal 2nd dribble) violation.

Please review the following plays from the Case Book. They should straighten this out for you.

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the
floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns
inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not
leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and
momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back
onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and
did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into
A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately
returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores.
RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
None of these plays matches the OP, which involves a dribbler in control who subsequently goes out of bounds. It is necessary in this play to determine when the dribble became an interrupted dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
None of these plays matches the OP, which involves a dribbler in control who subsequently goes out of bounds. It is necessary in this play to determine when the dribble became an interrupted dribble.
The principle is Sit D is the same as the interrupted dribble sitch of the OP. I do agree that the official must deem that player control was relinquished before the player stepped OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
He only seemed to retain control of the ball because there was nobody else in the BC. As I'm envisioning this play, it's perfectly legal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
He only seemed to retain control of the ball because there was nobody else in the BC. As I'm envisioning this play, it's perfectly legal.
mb,
While I don't disagree that this COULD be a legal play, it could also be a violation. The key judgment is was this an interupted dribble or not. If an interupted dribble (off the leg play is much clearer, in my opinion), then play is legal. If a player is dribbling, touches out of bounds, he is out of bounds and has committed a violation.

Without judgment, making a blanket statement that if the player "falls" or otherwise has his/her momentum carry him/her out of bounds, then retrieves the ball is ALWAYS legal, would mean that any time a dribbler looked down and saw his/her foot on a sideline/endline, he/she could simply "fall" out of bounds and immediately come back onto the court and continue dribbling. Judgment as to whether the dribble was actually interupted is important.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1