The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:09am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
9.3.1.Note?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct. Why people believe that there is something amiss on such a play is baffling to me.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with a player going OOB due to momentum. There is no penalty whatsoever associated with this.
He's no longer a dribbler when he steps out? I can see an interrupted dribble when off their leg, but in original stich, player bounced the ball with every intention to return to it. Is that "momentarily getting away" from the dribbler?
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:20am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
He's no longer a dribbler when he steps out? I can see an interrupted dribble when off their leg, but in original stich, player bounced the ball with every intention to return to it. Is that "momentarily getting away" from the dribbler?
If he is clearly in control of the dribble it is a violation when he steps out. In the OP when the dribbler lost his balance I pictured him also losing control of the ball.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:22am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
more of a...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If he is clearly in control of the dribble it is a violation when he steps out. In the OP when the dribbler lost his balance I pictured him also losing control of the ball.
... leaving the ball in a spot. One last bounce, like, "you stay here, I'll be right back"
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:28am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... leaving the ball in a spot. One last bounce, like, "you stay here, I'll be right back"
Judgment call. Did he lose control before he went out of bounds, or did he voluntarily abandon the dribble after he stepped out of bounds?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:28am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
I supose you could make the case...

... that a player leaving a dribble behind (abandoning like you suggest) and then returning to it is a momentary loss of control, whether they intended to or not.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
He's no longer a dribbler when he steps out? I can see an interrupted dribble when off their leg, but in original stich, player bounced the ball with every intention to return to it. Is that "momentarily getting away" from the dribbler?
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... leaving the ball in a spot. One last bounce, like, "you stay here, I'll be right back"
There is nothing wrong with purposely relinquishing player control before falling OOB and then returning and either catching the ball or continuing the dribble. It's legal either way. Just watch for a double-dribble (illegal 2nd dribble) violation.

Please review the following plays from the Case Book. They should straighten this out for you.

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the
floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns
inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not
leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and
momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back
onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and
did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into
A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately
returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores.
RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:33am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There is nothing wrong with purposely relinquishing player control before falling OOB and then returning and either catching the ball or continuing the dribble. It's legal either way. Just watch for a double-dribble (illegal 2nd dribble) violation.

Please review the following plays from the Case Book. They should straighten this out for you.

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the
floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns
inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not
leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and
momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back
onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and
did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into
A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately
returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores.
RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
None of these plays matches the OP, which involves a dribbler in control who subsequently goes out of bounds. It is necessary in this play to determine when the dribble became an interrupted dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 02:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
None of these plays matches the OP, which involves a dribbler in control who subsequently goes out of bounds. It is necessary in this play to determine when the dribble became an interrupted dribble.
The principle is Sit D is the same as the interrupted dribble sitch of the OP. I do agree that the official must deem that player control was relinquished before the player stepped OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 26, 2010, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
He only seemed to retain control of the ball because there was nobody else in the BC. As I'm envisioning this play, it's perfectly legal.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1