The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Line violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56702-line-violation.html)

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 25, 2010 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 655317)
Actually, I was thinking it's a violation based on leaving the throw-in spot.

However, I'm not positive, as the definition of throw-in spot only specifies width while pointedly stating <font color = red>there is no depth limitation</font>. Since it doesn't say anything about having a boundary equal to the boundary line, I have to say you're right. It's nothing.

Right, there's no depth limitation either way. :)

Anchor Mon Jan 25, 2010 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 655294)
Is it a violation if one of the feet is out of bounds while they hang the other over the end line?

Yes, IF you were calling according to a rule book from sometime around 1982. That was changed many years ago so that presently the answer is no, and has been "no" for some time.

mbyron Mon Jan 25, 2010 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 (Post 655260)
I blew it dead waived off the basket and called a line violation. Was I correct?

No, the word is 'waved'. ;)

Nevadaref Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 655317)
Actually, I was thinking it's a violation based on leaving the throw-in spot.

However, I'm not positive, as the definition of throw-in spot only specifies width while pointedly stating there is no depth limitation. Since it doesn't say anything about having a boundary equal to the boundary line, I have to say you're right. It's nothing.

I disagree. The designated throw-in spot is entirely OOB. If the thrower does not have one foot over the OOB area, then he does not have at least one foot on or over the designated throw-in spot. I'd call a violation.

soundedlikeastrike Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 655305)
Now, here's a play:

A1 OOB for a throw in, takes a running start and leaps over the line before releasing the throwin pass. By the time he releases the pass, both feet are definitively over the in bounds area.

Call?


I don't work, just play, but would think traveling, unless it's after a made basket.

just another ref Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 655458)
I don't work, just play, but would think traveling, unless it's after a made basket.

The traveling and dribble rules are not in effect during a throw-in.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike (Post 655458)
I don't work, just play, but would think traveling, unless it's after a made basket.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 655465)
The traveling and dribble rules are not in effect during a throw-in.

4.42.6 SITUATION: Following a personal foul by B3, the official indicates to
Team A that they shall inbound the ball from a spot 10 feet from the sideline. In
(a), A1 jumps in the air, over the designated spot, and passes the ball inbounds;
(b) A1 has one foot within the designated-spot area but lifts it from the floor as
the inbounds pass is made; or (c) A1 moves directly backwards from the designated
spot by 6 feet and passes the ball inbounds. RULING: Legal in (a), (b) and
(c). As long as the thrower maintains any portion of his/her body on or above the
3-foot designated-spot area while making the throw-in, the throw-in shall be
legal.

LEAVING DESIGNATED SPOT
7.6.3 SITUATION: A1 is out of bounds for a designated-spot throw-in. The
administering official has designated the spot and put the ball at A1’s disposal. In
order to avoid some of the defensive pressure near the throw-in spot, A1 takes
several steps directly backward, but keeps one foot on or over the designated
area prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in pass. RULING: Legal throw-in. It is
permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide
designated area without violating and he/she may move laterally if at least one
foot is kept on or over the designated area until the ball is released. The thrower
may also jump vertically and pass from the designated throw-in spot. COMMENT:
Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in. The
thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released.

just another ref Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 655420)
I disagree. The designated throw-in spot is entirely OOB. If the thrower does not have one foot over the OOB area, then he does not have at least one foot on or over the designated throw-in spot. I'd call a violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 655474)
LEAVING DESIGNATED SPOT
7.6.3 SITUATION: RULING: Legal throw-in. It is
permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide
designated area without violating......

What do you think now?

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 655478)
What do you think now?

I think that he can move both backward and forward just as I did before.
What I do not believe is that he can jump forward beyond the boundary line such that no part of his body is over the OOB area of the throw-in spot prior to releasing the ball on the throw-in pass.

The wording that you note is there to clarify that the thrower can back up and then return forward again if desired. It does not state that he can jump over the line.

just another ref Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 655482)
I think that he can move both backward and forward just as I did before.
What I do not believe is that he can jump forward beyond the boundary line such that no part of his body is over the OOB area of the throw-in spot prior to releasing the ball on the throw-in pass.

The wording that you note is there to clarify that the thrower can back up and then return forward again if desired. It does not state that he can jump over the line.


It also does not state that he can't. The only stated limit to the throw-in spot is its 3 foot width.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 655485)
It also does not state that he can't. The only stated limit to the throw-in spot is its 3 foot width.

Don't overlook the restrictions imposed by these sentences:

"As long as the thrower maintains any portion of his/her body on or above the
3-foot designated-spot area while making the throw-in, the throw-in shall be
legal."

"The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released."

Do you believe that the throw-in spot extends to the inbounds area of the court? Can a player legally make a throw-in from inbounds? ;)

just another ref Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 655486)
Don't overlook the restrictions imposed by these sentences:

"As long as the thrower maintains any portion of his/her body on or above the
3-foot designated-spot area while making the throw-in, the throw-in shall be
legal."

"The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released."

Do you believe that the throw-in spot extends to the inbounds area of the court? Can a player legally make a throw-in from inbounds? ;)

Right. The throw-in must be made from out of bounds. As long as he throws it before he comes down, he's still out of bounds. Meanwhile, he hasn't left the throw-in spot, because its only restriction is its three foot width.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 26, 2010 03:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 655490)
Right. The throw-in must be made from out of bounds. As long as he throws it before he comes down, he's still out of bounds. Meanwhile, he hasn't left the throw-in spot, because its only restriction is its three foot width.

My point was that if he can't legally stand there and throw the ball, then he can't throw the ball from above that location either as he wouldn't be keeping a foot on or over the spot.

Please think about that for a bit and then post your thoughts tomorrow.

just another ref Tue Jan 26, 2010 03:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 655500)
My point was that if he can't legally stand there and throw the ball, then he can't throw the ball from above that location either as he wouldn't be keeping a foot on or over the spot.

Please think about that for a bit and then post your thoughts tomorrow.

My thoughts are that the whole point of the throw-in spot is that the thrower can't move along the line.

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2010 10:47am

My initial thoughts were that the definition of the spot precluded a player from engaging in the play I mentioned. After reading the wording, however, I have to change that opinion. The fact is, there is no specific wording that prevents the action. I don't believe there is signficant enough advantage gained on this play to warrant calling a violation without specific rules declaring it illegal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1