The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2010, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Delay following a timeout

NFHS 7-5-1 says that after a time out, if the offensive team is not ready, you place the ball down and start your 5 second count. My question is, what happens if the offense is out on the court and ready for throw in, but the defensive team is still in the huddle?

I had this exact situation last night. I hit them with a delay of game after 3 attempts to break it up, which got their attention, but I think I was wrong. My partner suggested that I just hand the ball for a throw in (as in 7-5-1a), but my fear is that once the offense gets going, there will be a mad rush off the bench area and that would just cause confusion. I also felt that a T would have been too severe, but as I am reading the rule book today, i think that is what I should have done.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2010, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Just put the ball in play. You won't have any problems getting teams out of their huddles after that.

The main thing to make sure of here is not to penalize one team when you don't penalize another. If you gave Team A time to get out last time, don't put the ball in play immediately next time because Team B didn't come out. Handle this situation early in the game and you won't have issues.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2010, 03:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Put it in play. If the offense scores, start your count after a second or two. Call the violation if you get to 5. Rinse and repeat, but if you get to a second violation (on the same sequence), issue the T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 20, 2010, 06:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,873
The Throwiner ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
NFHS 7-5-1 says that after a time out, if the offensive team is not ready, you place the ball down and start your 5 second count.
Remember, you can also do this on any throwin, if a "throwiner" is not made available right away, not just after a timeout.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T or Delay? Coltdoggs Basketball 13 Thu Mar 06, 2008 03:13pm
T for Delay dan74 Basketball 2 Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:19am
Delay on B? dumbref Football 17 Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm
Delay T Dan_ref Basketball 7 Sun Feb 01, 2004 07:53am
Delay after TO physicsref Basketball 26 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1