The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Here's one for the newbies (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56432-heres-one-newbies.html)

mbyron Thu Jan 14, 2010 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 651476)
The inverted toilet swirl, until it becomes approved, is ridiculous.

It is approved. In football it means "one untimed down." ;)

representing Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 651056)
This happened in my game last night.

A1 to shoot first of a 1 and 1. B1 lines up with his foot on the lane line. Partner extends arm out and makes fist to indicate a delayed violation. A1 then shoots an air ball with the ball going directly OOB. What's the proper call?

Would there be a different call if the shot was the first of a two shot foul?

The answer is in NFHS Rule 9-1 Penalties 3 and 4b. You go to the arrow and do not shoot the second shot in 1-and-1.

If shooting 2 or three, that FT is dead and you would go to the next FT.

Welpe Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 651366)
Sorry Welpe....my bad.

No worries, I understand why you thought that. :)

Welpe Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651248)
I'll know it when I see it. :)

How's this work for you?

I did a girl's 8th grade game last night that took 2 hours. We called 16 fouls in the first quarter and who knows how many held balls. The first half ended at 7 PM and I wasn't back in my car until 8:15. The score was tied at the end of the half and at the end of the game, the visitor's were up by 25 points.

Oh yeah my scheduled partner was a no-show but thankfully, somebody working at the school had gone through the official's training and had a shirt.

Believe me yet? ;)

Adam Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:32am

LOL, you seem to have been sufficiently hazed.

grunewar Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 651515)
How's this work for you?

I did a girl's 8th grade game last night that took 2 hours. We called 16 fouls in the first quarter and who knows how many held balls. The first half ended at 7 PM and I wasn't back in my car until 8:15. The score was tied at the end of the half and at the end of the game, the visitor's were up by 25 points.

Oh yeah my scheduled partner was a no-show but thankfully, somebody working at the school had gone through the official's training and had a shirt.

Believe me yet? ;)

You're either:

a) Making all this stuff up, or
b) Having Padgett ghost write your material

Welpe Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:08am

If Padgett were ghostwriting this, he would've said 8th Grade Girl's "Competitive" game.... :)

I'm certainly not making it up either, my legs are feeling it today.

KJUmp Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 651508)
The answer is in NFHS Rule 9-1 Penalties 3 and 4b. You go to the arrow and do not shoot the second shot in 1-and-1.

If shooting 2 or three, that FT is dead and you would go to the next FT.

Crap...didn't read the question close enough and completely missed that it was a 1-and-1. Made the same mistake on this year's written test for my board (not reading the question closely enough), and it cost me....missed the mandatory minimum grade required to move to the next steps in the HS certification process, floor evaluations and floor test.
Here if you are trying to make the board, you don't pass written test, you do not qualify for a floor evaluations or the floor test. So your year, as far as having a chance to continue on and move up a level, comes to a screeching halt. You have to start over again from the beginning next season.
Don't get me wrong, the year is not a total waste. It gives you another season to continue to work on your mechanics at the JV level (certified board guys do not work JV here). We have guys who have passed the written test to either not make it the floor test (due to low evaluation scores) or make it to the floor test and flunk it. Same deal...they have to go back to the beginning next season.
Got 10 wrong, had to get no more than 7 wrong, and there were at least3 I would have gotten correct if I had read the question more closely....lesson learned...the hard way.
Mark, keep the newbie only questions coming when you can.

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 651508)
The answer is in NFHS Rule 9-1 Penalties 3 and 4b. You go to the arrow and do not shoot the second shot in 1-and-1.

If shooting 2 or three, that FT is dead and you would go to the next FT.

clear the lane for the 2nd throw and then go with the AP arrow ?

tjones1 Thu Jan 14, 2010 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651600)
clear the lane for the 2nd throw and then go with the AP arrow ?

No, if a second free throw followed (i.e. not a bonus situation) you'd just move to the second free throw and continue from there. Is that what you are asking?

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 651603)
No, if a second free throw followed (i.e. not a bonus situation) you'd just move to the second free throw and continue from there. Is that what you are asking?

let me break down my reasoning, might be less confusing . A1 and B1 both violating make it an AP arrow situation.
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway .
if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers !:)

tjones1 Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651612)
let me break down my reasoning, might be less confusing . A1 and B1 both violating make it an AP arrow situation.
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway .
if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers !:)

6.4.3 Situation A
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1's attempt doese not enter the basket or touch the ring.

RULING: The violations by B1 and A1 constitute a simultaneous free-throw violation. Unless another free throw follows, play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from a designated spot outside the end line.

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 651618)
6.4.3 Situation A
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1's attempt doese not enter the basket or touch the ring.

RULING: The violations by B1 and A1 constitute a simultaneous free-throw violation. Unless another free throw follows, play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from a designated spot outside the end line.

so it doesn't matter if more ft's follow, it's still going to the ap arrow after that ? if so then why not clear the lane of everybody but A1? and if A1 misses the rim again, ball to B ?

jdw3018 Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651612)
let me break down my reasoning, might be less confusing . A1 and B1 both violating make it an AP arrow situation.
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway .
if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers !:)

While it's not exactly a POI situation, that's basically how I think of it. You have a simultaneous violation which ends the current free throw attempt. You then have to go to the "next" thing. If there's another free throw, that's next. If there's not another free throw, you obviously have to get the game started with a throw in. The only way to determine who is entitled to the throw in is to go to the arrow.

One of the differences from a true POI situation is that the simultaneous violations could occur while the shooting team is in control of the ball, but that doesn't matter.

jdw3018 Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651651)
so it doesn't matter if more ft's follow, it's still going to the ap arrow after that ? if so then why not clear the lane of everybody but A1? and if A1 misses the rim again, ball to B ?

Where did you get that? It explicitly does matter if more FTs follow. Just shoot the next free throw with everyone on the lane and play on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1