The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Here's one for the newbies (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56432-heres-one-newbies.html)

Mark Padgett Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:31pm

Here's one for the newbies
 
This happened in my game last night.

A1 to shoot first of a 1 and 1. B1 lines up with his foot on the lane line. Partner extends arm out and makes fist to indicate a delayed violation. A1 then shoots an air ball with the ball going directly OOB. What's the proper call?

Would there be a different call if the shot was the first of a two shot foul?

grunewar Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:51pm

Well then, that's different! Drive on! My bad.

KJUmp Wed Jan 13, 2010 01:06pm

My answer was going to be.....

6-4-5(c) An alternating possession throw-in shall result when:
(c) Simultaneous floor or free-throw violations occur.


...it still is even though a newbie with 1,700+ posts gave us the answer.

Mark: Maybe you could set some parameters as to who qualifies as a newbie the next time you post one of your "newbies only" situations. Gee Welpe, give us a chance. Us newbies have a difficult enough time following the complicated sitchs that are posted and debated by you experienced vets. Mark is trying to help us out here to see if we're actually learning something about the rules and how to properly apply them in a game sitch.

Welpe Wed Jan 13, 2010 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 651085)
Gee Welpe, give us a chance.

Though I am honored that you consider me a veteran, of my 1700+ posts, almost all of them, prior to this basketball season were in the baseball, football and softball forums.

You actually have been officiating basketball for longer than I have. Despite that fact, I decided to delete my original post (before you responded). Sorry for any inconvenience I might've caused.

KJUmp Wed Jan 13, 2010 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 651056)
This happened in my game last night.

A1 to shoot first of a 1 and 1. B1 lines up with his foot on the lane line. Partner extends arm out and makes fist to indicate a delayed violation. A1 then shoots an air ball with the ball going directly OOB. What's the proper call?

Would there be a different call if the shot was the first of a two shot foul?

Missed the follow-up question....you shoot the 2nd FT.
Caseplay 6.4.3 Situation B.

grunewar Wed Jan 13, 2010 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 651089)
Though I am honored that you consider me a veteran, of my 1700+ posts, almost all of them, prior to this basketball season were in the baseball, football and softball forums.

You actually have been officiating basketball for longer than I have. Despite that fact, I decided to delete my original post (before you responded). Sorry for any inconvenience I might've caused.

This was my bad, as I "assumed" Welpe was a basketball vet, and this apparently is not the case.

So, welcome Newbie! ;)

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 01:37pm

I'm assuming Welpe is a spy from the Football forum until I get proof otherwise.

Zoochy Wed Jan 13, 2010 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 651056)
This happened in my game last night.

A1 to shoot first of a 1 and 1. B1 lines up with his foot on the lane line. Partner extends arm out and makes fist to indicate a delayed violation. A1 then shoots an air ball with the ball going directly OOB. What's the proper call?

Would there be a different call if the shot was the first of a two shot foul?

If I am A1 I am saying that "B1 disconcerted me", thus the shooter violation should be ignored.:D

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 651232)
If I am A1 I am saying that "B1 disconcerted me", thus the shooter violation should be ignored.:D

And I am laughing at you. :)

Welpe Wed Jan 13, 2010 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651101)
I'm assuming Welpe is a spy from the Football forum until I get proof otherwise.

What would you like produced as proof? :cool:

Adam Wed Jan 13, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 651240)
What would you like produced as proof? :cool:

I'll know it when I see it. :)

Welpe Wed Jan 13, 2010 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651248)
I'll know it when I see it. :)

You're taking obscurity lessons from my wife I see.

KJUmp Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 651089)
Though I am honored that you consider me a veteran, of my 1700+ posts, almost all of them, prior to this basketball season were in the baseball, football and softball forums.

You actually have been officiating basketball for longer than I have. Despite that fact, I decided to delete my original post (before you responded). Sorry for any inconvenience I might've caused.

Sorry Welpe....my bad.

Gargil Thu Jan 14, 2010 08:37am

Air balling a free throw is a violation, what is the signal? I always see the Officials do the finger pointed in the air twirl.

Freddy Thu Jan 14, 2010 08:43am

Isn't a Mechanic for This One
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 651474)
Air balling a free throw is a violation, what is the signal? I always see the Officials do the finger pointed in the air twirl.

Just raise the open hand, air up the whistle, point to the spot of the violation (I just point towards the rim), then point to the spot for the throw-in.
Everyone knows it missed the rim.
The inverted toilet swirl, until it becomes approved, is ridiculous. Probably will be ridiculous if it does become approved.

mbyron Thu Jan 14, 2010 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 651476)
The inverted toilet swirl, until it becomes approved, is ridiculous.

It is approved. In football it means "one untimed down." ;)

representing Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 651056)
This happened in my game last night.

A1 to shoot first of a 1 and 1. B1 lines up with his foot on the lane line. Partner extends arm out and makes fist to indicate a delayed violation. A1 then shoots an air ball with the ball going directly OOB. What's the proper call?

Would there be a different call if the shot was the first of a two shot foul?

The answer is in NFHS Rule 9-1 Penalties 3 and 4b. You go to the arrow and do not shoot the second shot in 1-and-1.

If shooting 2 or three, that FT is dead and you would go to the next FT.

Welpe Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 651366)
Sorry Welpe....my bad.

No worries, I understand why you thought that. :)

Welpe Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 651248)
I'll know it when I see it. :)

How's this work for you?

I did a girl's 8th grade game last night that took 2 hours. We called 16 fouls in the first quarter and who knows how many held balls. The first half ended at 7 PM and I wasn't back in my car until 8:15. The score was tied at the end of the half and at the end of the game, the visitor's were up by 25 points.

Oh yeah my scheduled partner was a no-show but thankfully, somebody working at the school had gone through the official's training and had a shirt.

Believe me yet? ;)

Adam Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:32am

LOL, you seem to have been sufficiently hazed.

grunewar Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 651515)
How's this work for you?

I did a girl's 8th grade game last night that took 2 hours. We called 16 fouls in the first quarter and who knows how many held balls. The first half ended at 7 PM and I wasn't back in my car until 8:15. The score was tied at the end of the half and at the end of the game, the visitor's were up by 25 points.

Oh yeah my scheduled partner was a no-show but thankfully, somebody working at the school had gone through the official's training and had a shirt.

Believe me yet? ;)

You're either:

a) Making all this stuff up, or
b) Having Padgett ghost write your material

Welpe Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:08am

If Padgett were ghostwriting this, he would've said 8th Grade Girl's "Competitive" game.... :)

I'm certainly not making it up either, my legs are feeling it today.

KJUmp Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 651508)
The answer is in NFHS Rule 9-1 Penalties 3 and 4b. You go to the arrow and do not shoot the second shot in 1-and-1.

If shooting 2 or three, that FT is dead and you would go to the next FT.

Crap...didn't read the question close enough and completely missed that it was a 1-and-1. Made the same mistake on this year's written test for my board (not reading the question closely enough), and it cost me....missed the mandatory minimum grade required to move to the next steps in the HS certification process, floor evaluations and floor test.
Here if you are trying to make the board, you don't pass written test, you do not qualify for a floor evaluations or the floor test. So your year, as far as having a chance to continue on and move up a level, comes to a screeching halt. You have to start over again from the beginning next season.
Don't get me wrong, the year is not a total waste. It gives you another season to continue to work on your mechanics at the JV level (certified board guys do not work JV here). We have guys who have passed the written test to either not make it the floor test (due to low evaluation scores) or make it to the floor test and flunk it. Same deal...they have to go back to the beginning next season.
Got 10 wrong, had to get no more than 7 wrong, and there were at least3 I would have gotten correct if I had read the question more closely....lesson learned...the hard way.
Mark, keep the newbie only questions coming when you can.

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 651508)
The answer is in NFHS Rule 9-1 Penalties 3 and 4b. You go to the arrow and do not shoot the second shot in 1-and-1.

If shooting 2 or three, that FT is dead and you would go to the next FT.

clear the lane for the 2nd throw and then go with the AP arrow ?

tjones1 Thu Jan 14, 2010 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651600)
clear the lane for the 2nd throw and then go with the AP arrow ?

No, if a second free throw followed (i.e. not a bonus situation) you'd just move to the second free throw and continue from there. Is that what you are asking?

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 651603)
No, if a second free throw followed (i.e. not a bonus situation) you'd just move to the second free throw and continue from there. Is that what you are asking?

let me break down my reasoning, might be less confusing . A1 and B1 both violating make it an AP arrow situation.
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway .
if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers !:)

tjones1 Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651612)
let me break down my reasoning, might be less confusing . A1 and B1 both violating make it an AP arrow situation.
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway .
if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers !:)

6.4.3 Situation A
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1's attempt doese not enter the basket or touch the ring.

RULING: The violations by B1 and A1 constitute a simultaneous free-throw violation. Unless another free throw follows, play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from a designated spot outside the end line.

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 651618)
6.4.3 Situation A
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts the free throw. However, A1's attempt doese not enter the basket or touch the ring.

RULING: The violations by B1 and A1 constitute a simultaneous free-throw violation. Unless another free throw follows, play resumes with an alternating-possession throw-in from a designated spot outside the end line.

so it doesn't matter if more ft's follow, it's still going to the ap arrow after that ? if so then why not clear the lane of everybody but A1? and if A1 misses the rim again, ball to B ?

jdw3018 Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651612)
let me break down my reasoning, might be less confusing . A1 and B1 both violating make it an AP arrow situation.
if another free throw(or 2) was coming ,they are administered first and then you still have to go to the AP arrow after the FT(s) . thus clearing the lane as there will be no rebounding anyway .
if A1 were to miss the rim again, then ball to B for a throw in ,no Ap situation . I definitely think these might be the correct answers !:)

While it's not exactly a POI situation, that's basically how I think of it. You have a simultaneous violation which ends the current free throw attempt. You then have to go to the "next" thing. If there's another free throw, that's next. If there's not another free throw, you obviously have to get the game started with a throw in. The only way to determine who is entitled to the throw in is to go to the arrow.

One of the differences from a true POI situation is that the simultaneous violations could occur while the shooting team is in control of the ball, but that doesn't matter.

jdw3018 Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651651)
so it doesn't matter if more ft's follow, it's still going to the ap arrow after that ? if so then why not clear the lane of everybody but A1? and if A1 misses the rim again, ball to B ?

Where did you get that? It explicitly does matter if more FTs follow. Just shoot the next free throw with everyone on the lane and play on.

Adam Thu Jan 14, 2010 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651651)
so it doesn't matter if more ft's follow, it's still going to the ap arrow after that ? if so then why not clear the lane of everybody but A1? and if A1 misses the rim again, ball to B ?

Note that it says "unless another freethrow follows...."

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 651654)
While it's not exactly a POI situation, that's basically how I think of it. You have a simultaneous violation which ends the current free throw attempt. You then have to go to the "next" thing. If there's another free throw, that's next. If there's not another free throw, you obviously have to get the game started with a throw in. The only way to determine who is entitled to the throw in is to go to the arrow.

One of the differences from a true POI situation is that the simultaneous violations could occur while the shooting team is in control of the ball, but that doesn't matter.

I'm not fully understanding the whole POI thing yet ,hopefully another thread may help. but right now i want to know about the additional FT . After that are we still going with the AP arrow ? and if so ;why have 6 guys in marked lane spaces ?
And next; if the thrower A1 violates again( miss the rim, foot in the lane etc..) that violation negates the AP arrow and ball to B ?

jdw3018 Thu Jan 14, 2010 03:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 651686)
I'm not fully understanding the whole POI thing yet ,hopefully another thread may help. but right now i want to know about the additional FT . After that are we still going with the AP arrow ? and if so ;why have 6 guys in marked lane spaces ?
And next; if the thrower A1 violates again( miss the rim, foot in the lane etc..) that violation negates the AP arrow and ball to B ?

If there is another free throw, we ARE NOT going to the A/P arrow. We are just going to resume play with the next free throw.

We only go to the arrow if there is NOT another free throw.

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 651691)
If there is another free throw, we ARE NOT going to the A/P arrow. We are just going to resume play with the next free throw.

We only go to the arrow if there is NOT another free throw.

O K , I did note the "unless " but wasn't sure how to interpret it , the easiest way might have been best ! some of you guys were obviously trying to tell me, thanks

tjones1 Thu Jan 14, 2010 03:24pm

Ok, some examples...
 
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts (a) the first free throw of a 1&1 (b) the 1st free throw of a 2 shot foul (c) the 2nd free throw of a 2 shot foul. However, in all situations, A1's attempt does not enter the basket or touch the ring.

Rulings:

Situation A: Cancel the attempt and resume play with the AP.

Situation B: Cancel the attempt and administer the 2nd free throw. Play will resume from here. I.e. if good, throw-in for Team B; on a miss Team A/B may get the rebound, etc.

Situation C: Cancel the attempt and resume play with the AP.

Does this help?

Upward ref Thu Jan 14, 2010 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 651698)
B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane prematurely. The administering official properly signals the violation and A1 attempts (a) the first free throw of a 1&1 (b) the 1st free throw of a 2 shot foul (c) the 2nd free throw of a 2 shot foul the free throw. However, in all situations, A1's attempt does not enter the basket or touch the ring.

Rulings:

Situation A: Cancel the attempt and resume play with the AP.

Situation B: Cancel the attempt and administer the 2nd free throw. Play will resume from here. I.e. if good, throw-in for Team B; on a miss Team A/B may get the rebound, etc.

Situation C: Cancel the attempt and resume play with the AP
.

Does this help?

Yes, I finally got it ! Thanks. <><


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1