The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Coach on the court. What is your call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56288-coach-court-what-your-call.html)

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 05:57pm

Coach on the court. What is your call?
 
14U boys AAU tournament in the 1st half. Team B is applying a full court press on Team A. Team B traps A1 on the sideline in the backcourt. A1 steps through the trap, and fires a pass downcourt that is caught...by Team B's coach, who is standing about 10' on the court (he is inside the 3-point line).
Call?

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:01pm

T

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:16pm

You would think so, wouldn't you? I brought this up because of the advantage/disadvantage discussion I read and how it related to violations.

The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

TimTaylor Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648950)
T

What he said.........

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648956)
You would think so, wouldn't you? I brought this up because of the advantage/disadvantage discussion I read and how it related to violations.

The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

A/D does not apply to technical fouls. I'm editing as I write this, so you're not getting my first thoughts.

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one). A coach 10 feet on the court who catches a live ball is going to get a seat belt and find himself half way to Disqualified.

TimTaylor Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648962)
A/D does not apply to technical fouls. I'm editing as I write this, so you're not getting my first thoughts.

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one). A coach 10 feet on the court who catches a live ball is going to get a seat belt and find himself half way to Disqualified.

Gee, you're getting soft in your old age Snaq!:D

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648962)
A/D does not apply to technical fouls. I'm editing as I write this, so you're not getting my first thoughts.

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one). A coach 10 feet on the court who catches a live ball is going to get a seat belt and find himself half way to Disqualified.

He will probably find himself all the way disqualified if I am the calling official.

Hmmm... Coming 10 feet onto the court and catching a live ball which was passed by the opposing team--Is this unacceptable behavior?

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:48pm

Yes, it is unacceptable behavior. But I don't think it is so far over the line that it warrants immediate ejection.

As always, just my $0.02.

Rich Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:53pm

Whack. No brainer.

Also a no brainer that it's not flagrant.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:55pm

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Rich Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Apple situation to the orange play posted in the OP.

muxbule Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Nevada this may have been asked before but do you have a cross reference rolodex of rules that points you back to an appropriate year for a rule interp. Or are you just that amazing?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648956)
The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

That ties for the stoopidest call ever made.

muxbule Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649009)
That ties for the stoopidest call ever made.

I agree but could you reveal what it is tied with. I assume it must be a doozy because this one is really stupid.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

I went ahead and highlighted the important part of this interp; you know, the part that explains why two Ts must be issued here. Oddly, it's also the part that makes this completely different than the OP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1