The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Coach on the court. What is your call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56288-coach-court-what-your-call.html)

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 05:57pm

Coach on the court. What is your call?
 
14U boys AAU tournament in the 1st half. Team B is applying a full court press on Team A. Team B traps A1 on the sideline in the backcourt. A1 steps through the trap, and fires a pass downcourt that is caught...by Team B's coach, who is standing about 10' on the court (he is inside the 3-point line).
Call?

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:01pm

T

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:16pm

You would think so, wouldn't you? I brought this up because of the advantage/disadvantage discussion I read and how it related to violations.

The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

TimTaylor Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648950)
T

What he said.........

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648956)
You would think so, wouldn't you? I brought this up because of the advantage/disadvantage discussion I read and how it related to violations.

The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

A/D does not apply to technical fouls. I'm editing as I write this, so you're not getting my first thoughts.

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one). A coach 10 feet on the court who catches a live ball is going to get a seat belt and find himself half way to Disqualified.

TimTaylor Wed Jan 06, 2010 06:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648962)
A/D does not apply to technical fouls. I'm editing as I write this, so you're not getting my first thoughts.

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one). A coach 10 feet on the court who catches a live ball is going to get a seat belt and find himself half way to Disqualified.

Gee, you're getting soft in your old age Snaq!:D

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648962)
A/D does not apply to technical fouls. I'm editing as I write this, so you're not getting my first thoughts.

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one). A coach 10 feet on the court who catches a live ball is going to get a seat belt and find himself half way to Disqualified.

He will probably find himself all the way disqualified if I am the calling official.

Hmmm... Coming 10 feet onto the court and catching a live ball which was passed by the opposing team--Is this unacceptable behavior?

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:48pm

Yes, it is unacceptable behavior. But I don't think it is so far over the line that it warrants immediate ejection.

As always, just my $0.02.

Rich Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:53pm

Whack. No brainer.

Also a no brainer that it's not flagrant.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:55pm

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Rich Wed Jan 06, 2010 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Apple situation to the orange play posted in the OP.

muxbule Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

Nevada this may have been asked before but do you have a cross reference rolodex of rules that points you back to an appropriate year for a rule interp. Or are you just that amazing?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648956)
The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

That ties for the stoopidest call ever made.

muxbule Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649009)
That ties for the stoopidest call ever made.

I agree but could you reveal what it is tied with. I assume it must be a doozy because this one is really stupid.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

I went ahead and highlighted the important part of this interp; you know, the part that explains why two Ts must be issued here. Oddly, it's also the part that makes this completely different than the OP.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 649011)
I agree but could you reveal what it is tied with. I assume it must be a doozy because this one is really stupid.

T on the home team for a mom coming onto the court to check on her injured child?

muxbule Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 649013)
T on the home team for a mom coming onto the court to check on her injured child?

Thanks, now I understand why it is a tie. Holy crap. The only thing that could be added as icing on the cake is if you said the calls were by the same official. :D

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 649016)
Thanks, now I understand why it is a tie. Holy crap. The only thing that could be added as icing on the cake is if you said the calls were by the same official. :D

I think mine still falls short, I haven't actually heard of it being called; just suggested. :)

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649009)
That ties for the stoopidest call ever made.

I agree. I was Coach A, and ended up with a "T" before all was said and done. I initially couldn't get any explanation other than "your player was going to throw it away anyway."
After the T, the ref who made the call did give me the better explanation, but I was still not pleased. He let me say my piece on A/D, and did say he knew where I was coming from, but didn't want to punish the other coach for making an "innocent" mistake. I pointed out that an innocent mistake is one foot on the court, not out 10' on the court.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 649023)
After the T, the ref who made the call did give me the better explanation, but I was still not pleased.

There is no better explanation for that one. :)

Advantage/disadvantage has got nothing to do with interfering with play. You just don't do it, deliberately or accidentally.

Unfortunately, some officials can always find an excuse not to call a warranted and deserved technical foul, no matter what.

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:06pm

I should have said "more in depth" explanation. :p

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649026)
There is no better explanation for that one. :)

Advantage/disadvantage has got nothing to do with interfering with play. You just don't do it, deliberately or accidentally.

Unfortunately, some officials can always find an excuse not to call a warranted and deserved technical foul, no matter what.

I'd bet my next game fee that the overly generous A/D official in the OP is, at this very moment, telling tonight's partner how he has never needed to call a T in his entire 21 years of officiating. :rolleyes:

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Please, for the love of all that's holy, put this interp away! Every time it appears in public it sets off another wave of posters arguing to impose multiple penalties for single infractions. :eek:

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 649035)
Please, for the love of all that's holy, put this interp away! Every time it appears in public it sets off another wave of posters arguing to impose multiple penalties for single infractions. :eek:

http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/imag...stirthepot.gif

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nevadaref (Post 649038)

rofl

Indianaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

This Situation fits a little better:
10.2.1 SITUATION B: Team A substitute No. 24: (a) reports to the scorer, but enters the court without being beckoned; or (b) goes directly from the bench and onto the court without being beckoned. RULING: One technical foul is charged to No. 24 in (a) and (b). In (b), even though No. 24 failed to comply with both requirements, only one foul is charged.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 649042)
This Situation fits a little better:...

Nah, it doesn't mention anything about the kid touching the ball or interfering with play. The OP has the coach not only on the inbounds area of the floor, but also catching a pass made by the opposing team.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648948)
14U boys AAU tournament in the 1st half. Team B is applying a full court press on Team A. Team B traps A1 on the sideline in the backcourt. A1 steps through the trap, and fires a pass downcourt that is caught...by Team B's coach, who is standing about 10' on the court (he is inside the 3-point line).
Call?

The interps has both elements, "enters the court and blocks the shot."

So whether or not you agree that the situation warrants two technical fouls, your citation is NOT a better fit for the OP.

just another ref Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:21am

I had loud complaints from the visiting coach earlier this year when the home coach caught the ball while standing in the box.

howie719 Thu Jan 07, 2010 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 649035)
Please, for the love of all that's holy, put this interp away! Every time it appears in public it sets off another wave of posters arguing to impose multiple penalties for single infractions. :eek:

I know its awesome!

1. Leaving bench - T
2. Unsporting - T
3. Sixth on the court - T
4. Not properly equipped. - T


Should have been 4 T's :D

Welpe Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by howie719 (Post 649114)
I know its awesome!

1. Leaving bench - T
2. Unsporting - T
3. Sixth on the court - T
4. Not properly equipped. - T


Should have been 4 T's :D

Don't forget the T for the ugly tie he is probably wearing, too.

Back In The Saddle Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 649116)
Don't forget the T for the ugly tie he is probably wearing, too.

The ugly tie actually is grounds for immediate ejection! ;)

refprof Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:52pm

left foot on court = 1 Tech
right foot on court = 1 Tech
Catching ball = 1 tech

26 Year Gap Thu Jan 07, 2010 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 649120)
The ugly tie actually is grounds for immediate ejection! ;)

You missed the AAU reference. Which was all that was needed to know this was going to be a T. The next AAU coach I see wearing a tie will be the first one. And 10' onto the court probably means the guy was venturing out there further and further and the crew did not want to take care of business. And they still didn't when the situation occurred.

Q: What do you call a guy who has officiated no higher than the JV level after 25 years?
A: That guy.

CoachCER Thu Jan 07, 2010 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 649178)
You missed the AAU reference. Which was all that was needed to know this was going to be a T. The next AAU coach I see wearing a tie will be the first one. And 10' onto the court probably means the guy was venturing out there further and further and the crew did not want to take care of business. And they still didn't when the situation occurred.

Q: What do you call a guy who has officiated no higher than the JV level after 25 years?
A: That guy.


Now here is the odd part. This was a 3-man crew, two of whom I know do varsity games, with the third being a younger guy who was working his way up to that level. He is the one that gave me the "explanation" on not calling the tech.
I am still not sure why the two experienced officials did not get involved. There were evaluators present from a local association who were using part of this tournament for training/evaluations for those wanting to move up the next season (or so they explained to me later), and the impression I got was they left the newbie swinging in the breeze to see how he would handle it.

26 Year Gap Thu Jan 07, 2010 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 649198)
Now here is the odd part. This was a 3-man crew, two of whom I know do varsity games, with the third being a younger guy who was working his way up to that level. He is the one that gave me the "explanation" on not calling the tech.
I am still not sure why the two experienced officials did not get involved. There were evaluators present from a local association who were using part of this tournament for training/evaluations for those wanting to move up the next season (or so they explained to me later), and the impression I got was they left the newbie swinging in the breeze to see how he would handle it.

He handled it as well as they handled it.

Adam Thu Jan 07, 2010 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 649199)
He handled it as well as they handled it.

Agreed. They should have made the call and talked to him about it later. They should have also put baby back into the corner.

tomegun Thu Jan 07, 2010 02:46pm

If I was the other coach you would probably have to throw me out. :D

Think of all the chaos that we would have if we let each coach have the opportunity to catch one pass per game. It would introduce a whole new strategy. Why only go 10 feet onto the court, why not all the way to the other side. Shoot, on a key possession the coach should just get under the hoop and play D.

Ridiculous.

Texas Aggie Thu Jan 07, 2010 03:52pm

Quote:

A coach 10 feet on the court is going to get at least a warning from me (and only one).
A warning? Are you serious?

This is a no-brainer T.

chartrusepengui Thu Jan 07, 2010 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 649226)
A warning? Are you serious?

Coach - I'm only going to tell you this once. You can't be 10 feet out on the floor - I simply will not tolerate that. You stay within 8 feet of the sideline or I'm going to have to do something drastic! I mean it. :rolleyes:

Adam Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 649226)
A warning? Are you serious?

This is a no-brainer T.

Note I said "at least." I say that because I'm averse to the term "automatic."

If he's requesting a timeout and he's completely out of the play, I'll give him one warning. That's the only thing I can come up with that might mitigate the call, though.

Upward ref Fri Jan 08, 2010 07:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 649198)
Now here is the odd part. This was a 3-man crew, two of whom I know do varsity games, with the third being a younger guy who was working his way up to that level. He is the one that gave me the "explanation" on not calling the tech.
I am still not sure why the two experienced officials did not get involved. There were evaluators present from a local association who were using part of this tournament for training/evaluations for those wanting to move up the next season (or so they explained to me later), and the impression I got was they left the newbie swinging in the breeze to see how he would handle it.

Well it's another good lesson for me ; what not to do ! :rolleyes:

Nevadaref Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 649231)
If he's requesting a timeout and he's completely out of the play, I'll give him one warning. That's the only thing I can come up with that might mitigate the call, though.

Unfortunately, too many people hold this opinion. They seem to believe that it is okay for the coach to run out onto the court to request a time-out. I'm not in the camp which excuses that.

The coaches need to understand that they have to communicate their request from within the confines of the coaching box. Perhaps they could learn to have their players echo the request. ;)

bbcoach7 Sun Jan 10, 2010 01:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648956)
You would think so, wouldn't you? I brought this up because of the advantage/disadvantage discussion I read and how it related to violations.

The ball was awarded to Team B on the sideline. The explanation given was that "A1 was going to throw the ball away anyway, so Team B did not gain an advantage by the coach being on the court. A1 should have realized he was not passing to a teammate. If Coach B was between A1 and a teammate, I would call a technical on him."

Awarded to Team B? Yeah that's the kind of bizzare, twisted, unjustified by a rule book, self will imposed ruling, that creates howler monkeys out of otherwise well behaved coaches. Not that monkeys howling is ever justified, just to point out this is how you create one out of nothing. :eek:

BktBallRef Sun Jan 10, 2010 01:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648948)
14U boys AAU tournament in the 1st half. Team B is applying a full court press on Team A. Team B traps A1 on the sideline in the backcourt. A1 steps through the trap, and fires a pass downcourt that is caught...by Team B's coach, who is standing about 10' on the court (he is inside the 3-point line).
Call?

See ya!

CoachCER Sun Jan 10, 2010 02:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbcoach7 (Post 649639)
Awarded to Team B? Yeah that's the kind of bizzare, twisted, unjustified by a rule book, self will imposed ruling, that creates howler monkeys out of otherwise well behaved coaches. Not that monkeys howling is ever justified, just to point out this is how you create one out of nothing. :eek:

I have coached over 700 games at different levels, and have around 7 total technicals. That was one of them. And I would do it again. I.just.could.not.accept.that.logic.

Adam Sun Jan 10, 2010 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649637)
Unfortunately, too many people hold this opinion. They seem to believe that it is okay for the coach to run out onto the court to request a time-out. I'm not in the camp which excuses that.

The coaches need to understand that they have to communicate their request from within the confines of the coaching box. Perhaps they could learn to have their players echo the request. ;)

Perhaps my problem is I've never actually seen a coach come onto the court so far. Here, they just get louder, or closer along the sideline, to get me to hear them.

Amen to getting the players to echo, that stopped when they got the ability to request it themselves.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 11, 2010 02:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 649645)
See ya!

For the record, are you saying that you would issue a flagrant technical foul directly to the head coach?

offici88 Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Does this mean the potential for a 7 point play? The 3 goes in, a bench players comes onto the court (T #1) and takes out the shooter (T #2). Let's just hope the lead doesn't have a rebounding foul underneath while in the double bonus.

I've had the parent on the floor situation (and didn't whack him) and would much prefer that situation to this one.

representing Tue Jan 12, 2010 02:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649637)
Unfortunately, too many people hold this opinion. They seem to believe that it is okay for the coach to run out onto the court to request a time-out. I'm not in the camp which excuses that.

The coaches need to understand that they have to communicate their request from within the confines of the coaching box. Perhaps they could learn to have their players echo the request. ;)

In my case, being hearing-impaired, I tell the coaches that if I'm in front of your bench and I don't hear you requesting time out, feel free to come onto the court to tap me on the shoulder and say "time-out". But if they come on for any other reason, automatic T from me. I will not let them abuse that little bit o' freedom.

EDIT: corrected.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 12, 2010 02:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 650452)
In my case, being hearing-impaired, I tell the coaches that if I'm in front of your bench and I don't hear you requesting time out, feel free to come onto the court to tap me on the shoulder and say "time-out". But if they come on for any other reason, automatic T from me. I will not let them abuse that little bit o' freedom.

EDIT: corrected.

Perhaps this is why you aren't listening to the veteran officials on this forum. ;)

mbyron Tue Jan 12, 2010 07:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 650455)
Perhaps this is why you aren't listening to the veteran officials on this forum. ;)

Deaf jokes? Really Nevada? Really. :rolleyes:

Chess Ref Tue Jan 12, 2010 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 650455)
Perhaps this is why you aren't listening to the veteran officials on this forum. ;)

:). I almost spit up the coffee on the keyboard.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 13, 2010 05:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 650469)
Deaf jokes? Really Nevada? Really. :rolleyes:

As you this forum is all text, so it was clearly not intended in that manner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1