The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Coach on the court. What is your call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56288-coach-court-what-your-call.html)

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 649011)
I agree but could you reveal what it is tied with. I assume it must be a doozy because this one is really stupid.

T on the home team for a mom coming onto the court to check on her injured child?

muxbule Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 649013)
T on the home team for a mom coming onto the court to check on her injured child?

Thanks, now I understand why it is a tie. Holy crap. The only thing that could be added as icing on the cake is if you said the calls were by the same official. :D

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 649016)
Thanks, now I understand why it is a tie. Holy crap. The only thing that could be added as icing on the cake is if you said the calls were by the same official. :D

I think mine still falls short, I haven't actually heard of it being called; just suggested. :)

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649009)
That ties for the stoopidest call ever made.

I agree. I was Coach A, and ended up with a "T" before all was said and done. I initially couldn't get any explanation other than "your player was going to throw it away anyway."
After the T, the ref who made the call did give me the better explanation, but I was still not pleased. He let me say my piece on A/D, and did say he knew where I was coming from, but didn't want to punish the other coach for making an "innocent" mistake. I pointed out that an innocent mistake is one foot on the court, not out 10' on the court.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 649023)
After the T, the ref who made the call did give me the better explanation, but I was still not pleased.

There is no better explanation for that one. :)

Advantage/disadvantage has got nothing to do with interfering with play. You just don't do it, deliberately or accidentally.

Unfortunately, some officials can always find an excuse not to call a warranted and deserved technical foul, no matter what.

CoachCER Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:06pm

I should have said "more in depth" explanation. :p

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 649026)
There is no better explanation for that one. :)

Advantage/disadvantage has got nothing to do with interfering with play. You just don't do it, deliberately or accidentally.

Unfortunately, some officials can always find an excuse not to call a warranted and deserved technical foul, no matter what.

I'd bet my next game fee that the overly generous A/D official in the OP is, at this very moment, telling tonight's partner how he has never needed to call a T in his entire 21 years of officiating. :rolleyes:

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

Please, for the love of all that's holy, put this interp away! Every time it appears in public it sets off another wave of posters arguing to impose multiple penalties for single infractions. :eek:

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 649035)
Please, for the love of all that's holy, put this interp away! Every time it appears in public it sets off another wave of posters arguing to impose multiple penalties for single infractions. :eek:

http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/imag...stirthepot.gif

Back In The Saddle Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nevadaref (Post 649038)

rofl

Indianaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 649001)
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)

This Situation fits a little better:
10.2.1 SITUATION B: Team A substitute No. 24: (a) reports to the scorer, but enters the court without being beckoned; or (b) goes directly from the bench and onto the court without being beckoned. RULING: One technical foul is charged to No. 24 in (a) and (b). In (b), even though No. 24 failed to comply with both requirements, only one foul is charged.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 649042)
This Situation fits a little better:...

Nah, it doesn't mention anything about the kid touching the ball or interfering with play. The OP has the coach not only on the inbounds area of the floor, but also catching a pass made by the opposing team.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachCER (Post 648948)
14U boys AAU tournament in the 1st half. Team B is applying a full court press on Team A. Team B traps A1 on the sideline in the backcourt. A1 steps through the trap, and fires a pass downcourt that is caught...by Team B's coach, who is standing about 10' on the court (he is inside the 3-point line).
Call?

The interps has both elements, "enters the court and blocks the shot."

So whether or not you agree that the situation warrants two technical fouls, your citation is NOT a better fit for the OP.

just another ref Thu Jan 07, 2010 12:21am

I had loud complaints from the visiting coach earlier this year when the home coach caught the ball while standing in the box.

howie719 Thu Jan 07, 2010 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 649035)
Please, for the love of all that's holy, put this interp away! Every time it appears in public it sets off another wave of posters arguing to impose multiple penalties for single infractions. :eek:

I know its awesome!

1. Leaving bench - T
2. Unsporting - T
3. Sixth on the court - T
4. Not properly equipped. - T


Should have been 4 T's :D

Welpe Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by howie719 (Post 649114)
I know its awesome!

1. Leaving bench - T
2. Unsporting - T
3. Sixth on the court - T
4. Not properly equipped. - T


Should have been 4 T's :D

Don't forget the T for the ugly tie he is probably wearing, too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1