The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2)
This Situation fits a little better:
10.2.1 SITUATION B: Team A substitute No. 24: (a) reports to the scorer, but enters the court without being beckoned; or (b) goes directly from the bench and onto the court without being beckoned. RULING: One technical foul is charged to No. 24 in (a) and (b). In (b), even though No. 24 failed to comply with both requirements, only one foul is charged.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
This Situation fits a little better:...
Nah, it doesn't mention anything about the kid touching the ball or interfering with play. The OP has the coach not only on the inbounds area of the floor, but also catching a pass made by the opposing team.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachCER View Post
14U boys AAU tournament in the 1st half. Team B is applying a full court press on Team A. Team B traps A1 on the sideline in the backcourt. A1 steps through the trap, and fires a pass downcourt that is caught...by Team B's coach, who is standing about 10' on the court (he is inside the 3-point line).
Call?
The interps has both elements, "enters the court and blocks the shot."

So whether or not you agree that the situation warrants two technical fouls, your citation is NOT a better fit for the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 07, 2010, 12:21am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I had loud complaints from the visiting coach earlier this year when the home coach caught the ball while standing in the box.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach on court closely_guarded Basketball 17 Fri Oct 28, 2005 08:22am
Coach on court closely_guarded Basketball 13 Fri Mar 18, 2005 03:14pm
Coach Dies on Court OverAndBack Basketball 0 Sat Nov 20, 2004 07:40am
Coach on the court instructing LepTalBldgs Basketball 5 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:34pm
assistant coach in a whellchair on the court hey_zebra Basketball 11 Thu Feb 17, 2000 03:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1