Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Wasn't "the pivot foot lifted from the floor before the ball is released, to start a dribble?" 4-44-3
It's not the usual way this violatin happens, but it's still a violation.
|
Technically, there is no pivot in such a situation, but the ruling is still a traveling violation.
4.44.3 SITUATION B: A1 receives the ball with both feet off the floor and he/she
lands simultaneously on both feet without establishing a pivot foot. A1 then
jumps off both feet in an attempt to try for goal, but realizing the shot may be
blocked, A1 drops the ball to the floor and dribbles. RULING: A1 has traveled as
one foot must be considered to be the pivot and must be on the floor when the
ball is released to start a dribble. The fact that no pivot foot had been established
does not alter this ruling.