The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:41am
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
explain...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.
... in more detail what "B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot" means.
Grabbing net with one hand and attempting block with the other?
Attempting block, hitting net, getting 'caught' in it and thus pulling it?
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.
Sounds like BI, no T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 11:10am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Sounds like BI, no T.
Agree in that situation(if the ball was on or within the basket). However that situation is completely different than the one described in the OP.

Two different situations described with two different rulings.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 11:07am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.
Now you're citing 2 completely different situations. In one the player is trying to block a shot while grabbing the net. In the other, he's pulling on the net to try to avoid falling on a player under him.

If you want a correct answer, you have to pick one or the other. They're completely different situations, rules-wise.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jan 06, 2010 at 11:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Now you're citing 2 completely different situations. In one the player is trying to block a shot while grabbing the net. In the other, he's pulling on the net to try to avoid falling on a player under him.

If you want a correct answer, you have to pick one or the other. They're completely different situations, rules-wise.
I thnk he now has 4 different situations:

1) Ball is either on the basket or in the imaginary cylinder when the net pulling occurs

2) Grabs the net while blocking the shot or pulls on it to avoid players.

No wonder he can't get an answer to his question -- he doesn't know what the question is.

(And, I don't mean that as demeaning to the OP. It's just an example of why precision is important -- sometimes even the difference between "baseline" and "endline" might matter. And, it's an example of how mistaken rulings get passed around.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
I was not working the V game, I was spectating. I saw the ball in the imaginary cylindar and non intentional BI. Count the basket and shoot one freethrow.
The Officials had a long conference and decided no shot, foul on the floor. (I thought was a bad call)
I was asking the question to see if I would have administered what I saw correctly. The grabbing of the net was a judgement call.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 12:05pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
I saw the ball in the imaginary cylindar and non intentional BI. Count the basket and shoot one freethrow.
The Officials had a long conference and decided no shot, foul on the floor. (I thought was a bad call)
I was asking the question to see if I would have administered what I saw correctly. The grabbing of the net was a judgement call.
It is not BI to grab the ring/net when the ball is in the cylinder. And it is not a technical foul to grasp the ring/net if you're doing so to avoid an injury. And intent NEVER is a factor in determining whether BI or goaltending should be called. And it's the calling official's judgment ONLY that decides whether a player was fouled before or in the act of shooting.

All of that adds up to us really not knowing what the exact situation was.

Little advice.....don't label anything as being a "bad call" when you don't have any idea what the call actually was.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
I have not found where is says to T a player for hanging on the net. The T for hanging on the rim I have found. Do we reason this to be the same thing. The net is treated the same as the rim as far as hanging on goes?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
It is not BI to grab the ring/net when the ball is in the cylinder.
Except for one possible piece that no one has mentioned (or I overlooked it)....

If the basket is grabbed (pulled down) such that the rim has not returned to its normal position when the ball contacts the rim, it is also BI...even if the grab occurs with the ball in the cylinder.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 11:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I thnk he now has 4 different situations:

1) Ball is either on the basket or in the imaginary cylinder when the net pulling occurs

2) Grabs the net while blocking the shot or pulls on it to avoid players.

No wonder he can't get an answer to his question -- he doesn't know what the question is.

(And, I don't mean that as demeaning to the OP. It's just an example of why precision is important -- sometimes even the difference between "baseline" and "endline" might matter. And, it's an example of how mistaken rulings get passed around.)
Agree. Good point made for everybody about being very specific if you want a correct answer to your question.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 11:43am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.
Okay, now that I've had my caffeine:
"Above the cylinder," to me, implies it was not on the basket. It was above it. BI is not an option here with the net.

From your first post, I'm not sure if the ball hit the rim before the rim returned to it's original position. If the rim was just shaking, which is how you worded it, then I'm assuming the rim never really left it's original position.

No BI.

If the player was trying to protect himself by grabbing the net, you shouldn't call the T either.

It's nothing but the original shooting foul, then.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 12:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Except for one possible piece that no one has mentioned (or I overlooked it)....

If the basket is grabbed (pulled down) such that the rim has not returned to its normal position when the ball contacts the rim, it is also BI...even if the grab occurs with the ball in the cylinder.
Got it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
From your first post, I'm not sure if the ball hit the rim before the rim returned to it's original position. If the rim was just shaking, which is how you worded it, then I'm assuming the rim never really left it's original position.

No BI.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 06, 2010, 10:57am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
... in more detail what "B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot" means.
Grabbing net with one hand and attempting block with the other?
Attempting block, hitting net, getting 'caught' in it and thus pulling it?
What difference does it make in either of those situations?

They're both technical fouls. The only exception is if the player grasped the net to avoid injury, and it's kinda tough to say that if the player is trying to block the ball at the same time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basket Interference/Goaltending LocDog249 Basketball 11 Sat Mar 21, 2009 01:40pm
Proper Mechanics for Goaltending or Basket Interference referee99 Basketball 15 Sat Dec 20, 2008 04:24pm
basket interfernce mechanic roadking Basketball 11 Tue Dec 09, 2003 09:46am
Goaltending and Basket Interference on a Throw in RdBallRef Basketball 8 Fri Oct 12, 2001 01:23pm
Goaltending, Basket Interference rainmaker Basketball 33 Mon Jun 04, 2001 11:20am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1