The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Interfernce / Goaltending (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56266-basket-interfernce-goaltending.html)

Gargil Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:35am

Basket Interfernce / Goaltending
 
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.
Is this goaltending, basket counts and one shot or basket interference? How would you administer if basket interference was the call?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:42am

It's a technical foul charged to B2. It is also basket interference if the ball was on or within the basket when B2 grabbed the net. If so, count the basket, have A1 shoot 1 FT with the lanes empty, team A now gets 2 FT's for the "T" with the lanes empty(any A player(s) can shoot), and then give team A a throw-in at center opposite the table.

Raymond Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648678)
It's a technical foul charged to B2. It is also basket interference if the ball was on or within the basket when B2 grabbed the net. If so, count the basket, have A1 shoot 1 FT with the lanes empty and then give team A a throw-in at center opposite the table.

Whaaa happened to the 2 free throws for the T?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648682)
Whaaa happened to the 2 free throws for the T?

Senior moment? Alzenheimers? Stoopidity?

Your choice....and fixed.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648676)
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.
Is this goaltending, basket counts and one shot or basket interference? How would you administer if basket interference was the call?

Was the ball in the cylinder? If it was, you could call BI. If it wasn't, you can't.
I also agree with JR, I've never seen a player pull on the net while trying to block a shot.

referee99 Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:41am

explain...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648676)
A1 drives to the basket and is fouled by B1 while shooting, B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot, shaking the backboard and rim while the ball bounces off of the backboard and rim and does not go in.

... in more detail what "B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot" means.
Grabbing net with one hand and attempting block with the other?
Attempting block, hitting net, getting 'caught' in it and thus pulling it?

Gargil Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:56am

The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 648730)
... in more detail what "B2 pulls on net while trying to block shot" means.
Grabbing net with one hand and attempting block with the other?
Attempting block, hitting net, getting 'caught' in it and thus pulling it?

What difference does it make in either of those situations?:confused:

They're both technical fouls. The only exception is if the player grasped the net to avoid injury, and it's kinda tough to say that if the player is trying to block the ball at the same time.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648738)
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Sounds like BI, no T.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648727)
Was the ball in the cylinder? If it was, you could call BI. If it wasn't, you can't.

Say what?

It ain't BI to touch or grasp the net while the ball is in the cylinder. The ball has to be on or within the basket when you grab the net. It's BI if you touch the ball when it's in the cylinder.

You know that.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gargil (Post 648738)
The ball was above the cylindar coming down to the rim and B2 was coming across the lane and it looked like he got caught in the net and was trying to avoid contact with A1 and B1 who were falling to the ground after the foul on the layup/short jump shot.

Now you're citing 2 completely different situations. In one the player is trying to block a shot while grabbing the net. In the other, he's pulling on the net to try to avoid falling on a player under him.

If you want a correct answer, you have to pick one or the other. They're completely different situations, rules-wise.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648742)
Sounds like BI, no T.

Agree in that situation(if the ball was on or within the basket). However that situation is completely different than the one described in the OP.

Two different situations described with two different rulings.

Adam Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648745)
Say what?

It ain't BI to touch or grasp the net while the ball is in the cylinder. The ball has to be on or within the basket when you grab the net. It's BI if you touch the ball when it's in the cylinder.

You know that.

Doh! You're right! I'm still tired from overturning neighbors' cars and lighting them on fire last night after the Orange Bowl.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648756)
Doh! You're right! I'm still tired from overturning neighbors' cars and lighting them on fire last night after the Orange Bowl.

I figgered you'd have a good reason.:D

bob jenkins Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 648751)
Now you're citing 2 completely different situations. In one the player is trying to block a shot while grabbing the net. In the other, he's pulling on the net to try to avoid falling on a player under him.

If you want a correct answer, you have to pick one or the other. They're completely different situations, rules-wise.

I thnk he now has 4 different situations:

1) Ball is either on the basket or in the imaginary cylinder when the net pulling occurs

2) Grabs the net while blocking the shot or pulls on it to avoid players.

No wonder he can't get an answer to his question -- he doesn't know what the question is.

(And, I don't mean that as demeaning to the OP. It's just an example of why precision is important -- sometimes even the difference between "baseline" and "endline" might matter. And, it's an example of how mistaken rulings get passed around.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1