The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
What request? They still haven't made a legal request, under any ruleset. How can you revoke what they never had? How can you grant a TO request that was never legally made?

The people on team B who are officials are telling you what the rules are...no more/no less. You had an inadvertent whistle with neither team in control. You now have to go to the arrow to determine possession. And seeing that the ball is dead, you can now also grant a TO request if one is made. What you couldn't do (and what got you into trouble trying to do) was grant an illegal TO request. And by rule you can't grant that illegal TO request either before or after your IW.

Don't compound your screw-up by screwing up another one.
There are very few times I disagree with you, but this would be one of them. Check out 5.8.3 Sit (E).

If jdmara was using NCAA-W rules, the players would be correct. Under NFHS rules, jdmra handled it correctly.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:23pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
There are very few times I disagree with you, but this would be one of them. Check out 5.8.3 Sit (E).
There was a TO request made in that case play, a request that was immediately responded to. When was the TO request made in the OP? Answer--->at some indeterminate time well before the actual whistle. In 5.8.3SitE(a) would you still have granted that request if the coach hadda said "I want a TO 3 possessions from now"?

In that case play, the official was responding to what he/she thought was a legitimate TO request. In the OP, the official is responding to what he should know is NOT a legal TO request. Big difference imho....

Apples and oranges......

Under NFHS rules, you can only grant TO requests as per rule 5-8-3. If you follow that rule, you won't get yourself into trouble as in the OP.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Dec 31, 2009 at 04:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:29pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Whenever a request is made for a future situation, it is always good to ask them to request it at that time. The onus is on the team to make the request. That way, you never put yourself in that position. You can look to the bench at that time to grant a request, but a TO on a rebound is much more difficult to anticipate than after a made FT.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
There was a TO request made in that case play, a request that was immediately responded to. When was the TO request made in the OP? Answer--->at some indeterminate time well before the actual whistle.
Um...you might want to re-read it - he said the players told him in advance, but then were also yelling for the TO during the rebounding action. Iow, jdmara was responding to a TO request at the time of the request, not at some point in the future. And I do happen to agree with you that we should not get into the habit of granting requests for some point in the future, even if it's the near future. You might be confusing this thread with JRut's thread in which Brad responded; I happen to fall into the camp where I acknowledge the coach's request ("Give me a TO on the make.") by telling them to simply re-affirm the request at the proper time. Sometimes I tell them I have terrible short-term memory and to simply nod at me at the proper time. Almost all coaches I've dealt with understand this principle.

So, apples and apples.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Under NFHS rules, you can only grant TO requests as per rule 5-8-3.
While I agree an official should only grant TO requests during certain specified times, this case play tells us if the improper request is still acknowledged, the TO is still granted.

I happen to own both rules (NFHS and NCAA-W) very well.

It is nice to have you back, even though our first conversation has to be a disagreement. But, something's missing...shouldn't one of us be telling the other to shut up?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)

Last edited by M&M Guy; Thu Dec 31, 2009 at 04:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
So, apples and apples.

While I agree an official should only grant TO requests during certain specified times, this case play tells us if the improper request is still acknowledged, the TO is still granted.
I did miss the point about the players also requesting a TO on the rebound. After considering your arguments, I will concede their veracity in this particular situation.

Apples and apples it is.

Now shut up.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Dec 31, 2009 at 04:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
After considering your points, I will concede their veracity in this particular situation.

Apples and apples it is.
What?!? Is this the kindlier and gentlier JR?!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Now shut up.
Ahh...there he is.

__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:55pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
What?!? Is this the kindlier and gentlier JR?!?

That's me. But I also hope that I'll always admit that I'm wrong when somebody irrefutably points it out out to me.

Even when I'm in grumpy mode......
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
That's me. But I also hope that I'll always admit that I'm wrong when somebody irrefutably points it out out to me.

Even when I'm in grumpy mode......
Um...this seems to imply you have another mode.

I thought grumpy mode for you even applied while you were asleep.

Yea, I know: shut up.

__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 05:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
So is it true that in both NCAA W & M, this would be an inadvertent whistle and then the coach for Team B would decide if they still want the timeout? Any references?

Just an FYI, if the player would have said, "We want a timeout after the rebound." I would have replied that he'll "make sure to request it after the rebound". But since he was an official he knew that he purposely said, "they will be requesting a timeout on the rebound".

I was the most disappointed of anyone on the floor that the ball squeezed out. It was a stupid mistake.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
I totally agree I never should have whistled until he had complete possession of the ball, I admitted that mistake wholeheartedly. I took my eyes off the ball for a split seconds to make sure who was calling the timeout and anticipated when I shouldn't have. I flubbed up in a crucial moment of the game. In fact as soon as I whistled and the ball popped out, I started to smile because I knew I screwed the pooch on this one.

I think under FED rules I got it right using Case Plays 5.8.3E and 7.5.3 but I was curious about NCAA M & W more than anything.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
There are very few times I disagree with you, but this would be one of them. Check out 5.8.3 Sit (E).

If jdmara was using NCAA-W rules, the players would be correct. Under NFHS rules, jdmra handled it correctly.
Nice reference. With regards to a timeout erroneously being granted, the cited NFHS case states "once granted it cannot be revoked".
__________________
Developer of phillyref.com -- local, national, global officiating information
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent Whistle bisonlj Football 5 Tue Sep 04, 2007 03:00pm
Inadvertent Whistle? eyezen Basketball 13 Mon Mar 26, 2007 06:20pm
Inadvertent Whistle AZ Line Judge Football 7 Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:23pm
Inadvertent Whistle? Endzone Football 7 Fri Oct 17, 2003 09:56pm
Inadvertent Whistle Rev.Ref63 Basketball 29 Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1