The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   10 secound backcourt or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56019-10-secound-backcourt-not.html)

chseagle Sun Dec 20, 2009 04:56am

10 secound backcourt or not
 
Team B is moving ball up from backcourt, with 35 seconds on shot clock. Team A traps team B in BC & Team B calls time out. Shot clock shows 24 seconds. Official comes over to table & instructs shot clock to be reset to 27 & team B gets their time out.

This happened during Boys' Varsity tonight. Should Team B of been given the time out after having a 10 second BC against them?

rlarry Sun Dec 20, 2009 07:56am

I would imagine the official granted the time out and the clock kept running.

CMHCoachNRef Sun Dec 20, 2009 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 644270)
Team B is moving ball up from backcourt, with 35 seconds on shot clock. Team A traps team B in BC & Team B calls time out. Shot clock shows 24 seconds. Official comes over to table & instructs shot clock to be reset to 27 & team B gets their time out.

This happened during Boys' Varsity tonight. Should Team B of been given the time out after having a 10 second BC against them?

Let me guess, the VISITING TEAM is Team B. Correct? Since our State does not have a shot clock, I don't know all of the rules concerning it at the NFHS level, BUT, my guess is that the Shot Clock Timer may have started the clock too early. Since the trail has the 10-second count in the backcourt, he had only gotten to eight when the time out was GRANTED.

Once again, not sure if this would be the correct procedure since we do not have a shot clock. Just trying to logically deduce how the events you describe could have happened.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 20, 2009 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 644270)
Should Team B of

No.

That said, I'm confused by the question. I don't see that Team B committed a 10-second BC violation.

Johnny Ringo Sun Dec 20, 2009 09:37am

... or it was actually 11 seconds in the BC and the officiall whiffed and gave the time out.

At that point, the official then glanced to the shot clock and noticed he/she had forgot to count, started late or messed up and then to make it look like he was on top of it, put the time back on the clock.

Just a thought.

representing Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chseagle (Post 644270)
Team B is moving ball up from backcourt, with 35 seconds on shot clock. Team A traps team B in BC & Team B calls time out. Shot clock shows 24 seconds. Official comes over to table & instructs shot clock to be reset to 27 & team B gets their time out.

This happened during Boys' Varsity tonight. Should Team B of been given the time out after having a 10 second BC against them?

For several years I was the scoreboard operator at my school prior to graduating. This has happened in one of the games last season. Visiting team taking ball down court, get's trapped and calls timeout. 24 seconds on the shot clock. the R comes over to me and says to put 26 back on the scoreclock.

While the rule does say "10 seconds", every one of us are not in sync with the clock to have a perfect 10 seconds. I even know some officials in my chapter who counts too fast and it would only be 8-9 seconds off the clock when they extended their hand the 10th time. Some guys count too slow that it would be 12-13 seconds... So it is possible maybe the trail only got to 7 or 8 before the time out was called.

CMHCoachNRef Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644308)
For several years I was the scoreboard operator at my school prior to graduating. This has happened in one of the games last season. Visiting team taking ball down court, get's trapped and calls timeout. 24 seconds on the shot clock. the R comes over to me and says to put 26 back on the scoreclock.

While the rule does say "10 seconds", every one of us are not in sync with the clock to have a perfect 10 seconds. I even know some officials in my chapter who counts too fast and it would only be 8-9 seconds off the clock when they extended their hand the 10th time. Some guys count too slow that it would be 12-13 seconds... So it is possible maybe the trail only got to 7 or 8 before the time out was called.

Another possibility. Once again, I don't know the specific rules with a shot clock, but I know there have been situations such as you have indicated without the clock. The trail officials count is the determining factor.

Nevadaref Sun Dec 20, 2009 05:59pm

Neither the game clock nor the shot clock matter in this situation, only the count by the official. If the official doesn't reach a count of ten, then there is no violation.


5.10.1 SITUATION B: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in
their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in
pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official
does not make a 10-second call because he/she "lost the count." RULING: The
game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do
this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There
is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in
counting seconds.

Johnny Ringo Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 644372)
Neither the game clock nor the shot clock matter in this situation, only the count by the official. If the official doesn't reach a count of ten, then there is no violation.

All I am saying is many refs will look at the clock and make a change to something to cover up a fast or slow count. Not saying it is right, but I have seen it done. and that very well may have been the case in the OP.

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 644515)
All I am saying is many refs will look at the clock and make a change to something to cover up a fast or slow count. Not saying it is right, but I have seen it done. and that very well may have been the case in the OP.

Or, the official had an 8 count and determined that based on that, the shot clock must have started early. Perhaps the ball was touched inbounds before team control was established; starting the game clock (properly) and the shot clock (improperly).

referee99 Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:20am

Wait a minute...
 
... is there even the slightest possibility that the shot clock operator reset the clock when the ball either hit the ring or passed through.... and didn't hold the restarting of the clock until the ball is under player control inbounds?

Gee, I haven't had that since EVERY GAME I HAVE HAD THIS SEASON!!.
Chronic problem. I talk to SCOs before the game about when to reset, they nod... I talk about reset and HOLD... they often don't even know what that is... sheesh.

OK, maybe it hasn't been a problem in EVERY game...

BktBallRef Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 644308)
I even know some officials in my chapter who counts too fast and it would only be 8-9 seconds off the clock when they extended their hand the 10th time.

Doubtful. It's almost impossible to an official to count too fast. It's very noticable, as you almost have to separate your shoulder to count too fast.

CoachP Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:14pm

Team A ahead.
9.2 seconds on the clock.
A1 inbounds after a made B1 FT.

Does anyone here start a 10 second count?

Adam Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:16pm

Yes, but only until I know the clock has started properly.

tjones1 Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 644537)
Team A ahead.
9.2 seconds on the clock.
A1 inbounds after a made B1 FT.

Does anyone here start a 10 second count?

I would. But I'm only counting for the camera, I would certainly know that I couldn't a 10-second violation.

Of course, depending on the margin, I might not have to count very long as Team B might be fouling.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1