![]() |
There's also the small matter of the clock starting on the touch and the count not beginning until there is control. The OP doesn't say if there was any discrepancy there or not, but just because 10 seconds ran off the clock doesn't necessarily mean there is a 10 second violation.
|
Quote:
True, but that wouldn't (or shouldn't) lead to resetting the shot clock to 27 seconds, as in the OP. It could lead to properly granting a TO with 23 or 24 seconds on the shot clock and no 10-second violation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Play: BC throwin for A with new shot clock. Throwin is tipped by a) A2, who does not gain control or b) B1, who does not gain control, before being controlled by A3 (two seconds later for the sake of clarity). When do you start the shot clock? |
Quote:
In NCAA the shot clock starts when the ball is legally touched inbounds. The 10-second count doesn't begin until there's control. What they do in WA might be different. |
Quote:
b) when the throw-in pass is tipped by B1 From the current NCAA rules: Rule 2 Section 11. Duties of Shot-Clock Operator The shot-clock operator shall:... 5. Start the timing device when a player inbounds legally touches or is touched by the ball on a throw-in or when a team initially gains possession from a jump ball, an unsuccessful try for goal or when possession is gained of a loose ball after a jump ball or unsuccessful try for goal. |
I have to wonder whether this has anything to do with there being team control during a throwin, but I'm just speculating. I had assumed that for the shot clock to start, team control would have needed to begin.
Having only worked one game with a shot clock, ever, I'm not surprised I had that one wrong. :) |
This is from the WIAA website - since the 35 sec. shot clock is new for boys this year, they posted very clear instructions on their website. The rules are pretty much the same as the NCAA rules.
Art. 5 Start the timing device when a player in bounds legally touches or is touched by the ball on a throw-in or when a team initially gains possession from a jump ball, an unsuccessful try for goal or a loose ball. |
To clarify things, Team B had full control of the ball the whole time.
|
Quote:
yes, and apparently for 8 seconds. |
All The Time, Every Game ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
In any case, as has been pointed out by both rule and case book situation, the trail official has the sole responsibility and authority for determining the occurrence of a 10 second back court violation. This is not the job of either the timer or shot clock operator - they need to focus on their own responsibilities and let the officials take care of theirs. There are a lot of subtle nuances in the practice and art of officiating, and it takes a lot of time and effort to learn to apply them effectively and consistently. Coaches, players, table crew and fans for the most part have no clue unless they've been there. Rant mode off - nomex underwear on.....flame away! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14pm. |