The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member

Sports Officiating Class Help!

I am a college student taking a sports officiating class and I need some help regarding an assignment. I have not received my book (Modern Sports Officiating) in the mail yet and I need help answering a couple of questions from the first 2 chapters.

1) List the 5 roles of an official -- I have an idea of what to put, but it probably won't be what the book has

2) 12 qualities of a competent official

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If anyone on here has this book or has read it, I would benefit greatly from any information.

Thanks in advance.
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 03:52pm
Archaic Power Monger

I would check your school's library, which should have textbooks on reserve for the students to use. Failing that, does a classmate of yours have the book you can borrow to do the assignment?

Either one of those would be better than one of us giving you our own answers which may or may not be what the book has.
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 03:56pm
This IS My Social Life

A Good Resource

Welcome to our forum! As you continue your class, and especially if you go on to actually officiate, you will find this discussion board a very rich resource for enrichment and enjoyment.
Whereas most of the responses to inquiries you find here are based solely on National Federation of High Schools publications, perhaps one of the contributors has the text to which you are referring on his shelf. If so, you can be sure you'll hear from him/her shortly.
Keep hanging around!
And again, welcome!
Old Fri Dec 18, 2009, 04:16pm
certified Hot Mom tester

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by dford View Post
List the 5 roles of an official
1 - control the coaches
2 - warn the coaches
3 - tee up the coaches
4 - eject the coaches
5 - crescent roll