The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 06:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 130
Re: Re: I just don't agree

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
As I already said they've turned a once in a lifetime thing
into a once a game annoyance. They attempted to cover a
minute hole in the existing rule and made a mess of it.
IMO. But how about this: this interpretaion is not
consistent with the existing rules, unless they made
"editorial changes" to the rules which provide for 5
seconds to complete a legal throw-in. A delay warning works
because it negates any advantage and it warns a team that
has delayed the game using this tactic either on purpose or
by mistake. Giving the ball to the other team is entirely
too harsh. [/B]
They have made a change in the wording to cover the 5 second throw in. It is specific on when it is a straight violation and when you use the 5 second count.

Not once in a lifetime event. I had this play twice last season. Once in a HS game and once in a college game. Also two friends had this play. The real problem to me is not calling it a violation, its me calling it a violation, you a warniing, and someone else a do over. That inconsistency is what will make a coach furious. If we all call it the same they will understand. I would have no problem if they had ruled it a delay warning. The problem there, doing it this way, will end up being too harsh. It is like the swinging of the elbows, a T was too harsh. Now when they do this a second time and you T them, now you are giving the other team points. A straight violation for the elbow swinging and for this throw in violation is a penalty, but not one that give the other team free shots for points.

I think in the long run it is more consistent with the other penalties. Just my two cents, or maybe a buck fifty for those who agree.


Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 06:41am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: Re: Re: I just don't agree

Quote:
Originally posted by Self
.... That inconsistency is what will make a coach furious....
Self,
Seems to me I would be more concerned with my players being that "wrong", than what the penalty will be.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 07:10am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: Re: Re: I just don't agree

Quote:
Originally posted by Self
.... That inconsistency is what will make a coach furious....
Self,
Seems to me I would be more concerned with my players being that "wrong", than what the penalty will be.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 130
Not sure I understand

You would be more concerned with your player being wrong than 3 officials calling the same play 3 different ways? Is that what you are saying?
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 07:43am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Wink Re: Not sure I understand

Quote:
Originally posted by Self
You would be more concerned with your player being wrong than 3 officials calling the same play 3 different ways? Is that what you are saying?

My player would be able to get it wrong the first time. A second time would be the last time.
Then, I would have a player that wouldn't require the officials to even make dang the call.
mick

Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 130
Thumbs up Gotcha

*
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 690
I've been reading this thread with great interest. Last year we led 48-45 with :05 to go. We had a foul to give, and I thought I was clear in the timeout that we'd only foul when the player's back was to the basket. I'm sure you know what's coming next. Yep, we fouled on a three-point attempt with :01 left. Amazingly, the girl (they were the visitors and we had a pretty good crowd) hit all three. Well, on the third attempt the opponents had all four of the shooter's teammates in lane spaces, so I had my PG down in front of my bench all by herself. As the third free throw went through the net, my player grabbed the ball and fired it to the PG, WITHOUT GOING OOB FIRST. This is exactly the play that would make this a problem, because without a whistle, our player would've gotten a shot away before a five-second count would've expired. Fortunately for us, the official blew his whistle and called for a "do-over". We inbounded and went on to win in OT.
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out.
-- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Re: Re: I just don't agree

Quote:
Originally posted by Self


Not once in a lifetime event. I had this play twice last season. Once in a HS game and once in a college game. ...


Hmmm, the fed rule doesn't help for the college case.

I might see it once a year if I include JH/JV HS games, where I blow it back & everyone has a little chuckle.

I've seen this once *for real* during a summer tourney,
reasonable level of play, courts all over the place, running
clock. It was definitely NOT by design, A1 just got sorta
confused. I blew it back & made him do it right. Not a
word from either side, the kid sorta smiled and looked at me
with puppy dog eyes and quickly glanced over at his coach,
who was shaking his head in mild disbelief.

Since you see this so often, how have you been calling it?
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
You make a throw-in and you're not OOB, it's a violation.

Originally posted by Dan
by definition a "throw-in" when you are not OOB is not a throw-in.

Originally posted by BktBallRef
If you're not OOB, it's not a throw-in.
Ok, ok, I stand slightly corrected. (Maybe I "stoop" corrected.) To restate. . . "You attempt a throw-in and you're not OOB, it's a violation". Happy? right back at'cha, Tony.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
You make a throw-in and you're not OOB, it's a violation.

Originally posted by Dan
by definition a "throw-in" when you are not OOB is not a throw-in.

Originally posted by BktBallRef
If you're not OOB, it's not a throw-in.
Ok, ok, I stand slightly corrected. (Maybe I "stoop" corrected.) To restate. . . "You attempt a throw-in and you're not OOB, it's a violation". Happy? right back at'cha, Tony.

Chuck
Hey, as long as you think the fed is right on this you
haven't been corrected enough. Standing, stooping or sitting down
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 130
Re: Re: Re: Re: I just don't agree

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Hmmm, the fed rule doesn't help for the college case.

Since you see this so often, how have you been calling it? [/B]
Fed doesn't have to for college....

As for how I have been calling it, I have called it a violation, as it was intended to be called. The clarification in rule 9-2-2 is not a new rule. This is a clarification of an old rule. Meaning this is how it was suppose to be called all along. Now granted before I could see differences of opinion on it, but I felt the rule was clear on this before and even more so now.

If they do this a second time are you going to T the team after the first warning. Or are you going to just warn them again, and if so what rule are you justifying this with?

Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: I just don't agree

Quote:
Originally posted by Self


Fed doesn't have to for college....

Not sure what this means.

Quote:

If they do this a second time are you going to T the team after the first warning. Or are you going to just warn them again, and if so what rule are you justifying this with?
If the delay warning is used yes the T comes next.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
You make a throw-in and you're not OOB, it's a violation.

Originally posted by Dan
by definition a "throw-in" when you are not OOB is not a throw-in.

Originally posted by BktBallRef
If you're not OOB, it's not a throw-in.
Ok, ok, I stand slightly corrected. (Maybe I "stoop" corrected.) To restate. . . "You attempt a throw-in and you're not OOB, it's a violation". Happy? right back at'cha, Tony.
If you're not OOB, how can it be an attempted throw-in?
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
If you're not OOB, how can it be an attempted throw-in?
Well, I think it's pretty obvious how, but if you're going to pick microscopic nits, then how about "If you throw the ball to a teammate and you intended to attempt a throw-in, but you're not OOB, it's a violation. I'll get it right. . . you just wait and see.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 09, 2002, 11:14am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I'll get it right. . . you just wait and see.

Chuck [/B][/QUOTE]Could you hurry up just a little?According to the acturial tables,I'm out of here in about fifteen years.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1